Write Way Home

Halfway through, I christened the pilgrimage Write Way Home. I loved this title because it encapsulated exactly what I was doing. I was writing my way 'home', back to who I was and wanted to be again. Only when I'd finished did I decide ...

Author: Hedley Derenzie

Publisher: Brio Books Pty Ltd

ISBN: 9781925589221

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 901

DOWNLOAD →

‘What a great book and what an achievement. I loved it. It’s pithy (in a sharp way), at times funny and at times heart-breaking but always optimistic. Above all, it’s inspirational.’ —Bob Selden, bestselling author of What to Do When You Become the Boss After a failed suicide attempt, author Hedley Derenzie decided rather than escaping life, she would write her way through it, every day for the next thirty-one days. What started out as a simple yet challenging exercise soon turned into a life-changing adventure. It became an exploration of the creative process and what it means to find true fulfilment. Write Way Home is a personal, engaging story about one writer’s quest to navigate her way back from the brink with the help of a daily creative practice. Written in clear and simple language, it offers insights and practical suggestions to anyone who might be feeling stuck or lost and looking for a way out — as in, a way back to life.

How to Write Your Way Home

We listen to the crunching noise when we bend our right knee. We notice the way our stomach tenses up when our brother talks about his important job. Sometimes the 'other' will be outside our selves. We hear the blackbird's song as ...

Author:

Publisher: Fiona Robyn

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 857

DOWNLOAD →

Finding Your Way Home

Write down the ways in which you'd like to spend that time. A better relationship with your spouse? Better health? Less stress and pressure? Write down the changes you'd like to see made in your children's lives and that of your spouse ...

Author: Lucynda Koesters

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781418489649

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 336

View: 669

DOWNLOAD →

Part-Time Dad, Full-Time Heart is a book to encourage and give hope to Dads. Many changes in our society dictate a single adult raising children. Whether you are a part-time Dad due to divorce, a young Dad wishing to learn success secrets, you have chosen to be part-time due to employment arrangements, or any other innumerable reasons, this book is for you. Keith Jowers has a personal passion to reach Dads and communicates how to keep a connection to their children for life. He shares how Dads can change the next generation by their influence, character and love. He shares humorous, real-life stories, but simple and insightful ways to interact more with your children and make being a Dad exciting. Keith heard a judge by court order declare him a part-time Dad, but in his heart, he heard God's voice telling him he could have a full-time love and relationship with his daughter if he really wanted it. Each chapter of the book provides a commentary and perspective from his daughter, Kristina. She shares the proven, incredible difference that her Dad played in her life and what it means to a child's future to have the Dad connection.

Mapping My Way Home

But first, before years of child-rearing brought an end to my travels, I wanted one more trip back to Africa. But how? ... “I wish I could write the way you write,” he continued. “If your book is as good as your articles, you will have ...

Author: Stephanie Urdang

Publisher: NYU Press

ISBN: 9781583676684

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 842

DOWNLOAD →

Stephanie Urdang was born in Cape Town, South Africa, into a white, Jewish family staunchly opposed to the apartheid regime. In 1967, at the age of twenty-three, no longer able to tolerate the grotesque iniquities and oppression of apartheid, she chose exile and emigrated to the United States. There she embraced feminism, met anti-apartheid and solidarity movement activists, and encountered a particularly American brand of racial injustice. Urdang also met African revolutionaries such as Amilcar Cabral, who would influence her return to Africa and her subsequent journalism. In 1974, she trekked through the liberation zones of Guinea-Bissau during its war of independence; in the 1980’s, she returned repeatedly to Mozambique and saw how South Africa was fomenting a civil war aimed to destroy the newly independent country. From the vantage point of her activism in the United States, and from her travels in Africa, Urdang tracked and wrote about the slow, inexorable demise of apartheid that led to South Africa’s first democratic elections, when she could finally return home. Urdang’s memoir maps out her quest for the meaning of home and for the lived reality of revolution with empathy, courage, and a keen eye for historical and geographic detail. This is a personal narrative, beautifully told, of a journey traveled by an indefatigable exile who, while yearning for home, continued to question where, as a citizen of both South Africa and the United States, she belongs. “My South Africa!” she writes, on her return in 1991, after the release of Nelson Mandela, “How could I have imagined for one instant that I could return to its beauty, and not its pain?”

On My Way Home

Maybe I'll be lucky and I'll live through what's left of my term and get the letter back from the colonel and give it to you in person. I'm on an Army cargo plane as I write this, on the way from the Landstuhl base in Germany to Bagram, ...

Author: E.R. Wytrykus

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9780983933830

Category:

Page: 362

View: 937

DOWNLOAD →

The Long Way Home

One Mom's Journey Home From War Jessica Scott ... Or worse, if she says I can write it but can't accept any compensation for it. ... Idon't think I can write an entire book and all that goes into that without compensation.

Author: Jessica Scott

Publisher: Jessica Scott

ISBN: 9781482642315

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 310

View: 823

DOWNLOAD →

My name is Jessica Scott. I am a soldier. I am a mother. I am a wife. In 2009, Army second lieutenant Jessica Scott deployed to Iraq as part of Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation New Dawn. She thought deploying was the hardest thing she'd ever do. She was wrong. This is the story of a mother coming home from war and learning to be a mom again. This is the story of a lieutenant making the grade and becoming a company commander. This is the journey of a writer persevering through a hundred rejections. This is the story of a soldier learning to be a woman again. This is the story of a wife waiting for the end of a war. This is the journey as it happened, without commentary. This is her blog. There are many blogs from the Iraq war, but this one is hers.

The Longest Way Home

Often, the farther afield I go, the more at home I feel. That's not because the avenues of Harare are more familiar to me than ... I was forthright in a way that I never had been able to be when talking about my acting. “Can you write?

Author: Andrew McCarthy

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781451667509

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 277

View: 939

DOWNLOAD →

The actor-turned-travel writer meditates on how travel has helped him to overcome life-long fears and confront his resistance to commitment, tracing his soul-searching visits to such world regions as Patagonia, the Amazon, and Kilimanjaro.

The Way Home

'You heard right. I'm getting married.' Maggie was leaning over the banister, her expression a mixture of shock at seeing her big sister and defiance that her news had leaked out too soon. 'How come you're back without warning us?

Author: Kay Brellend

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780349415338

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 133

DOWNLOAD →

A heartwarming saga about war, love and duty by the bestselling author of The Street and East End Angel. North London, 1916. When Olivia Bone and Lieutenant Lucas Black shared a passionate kiss one summer's evening, it seemed as if their love might finally have a chance to bloom. But their brief happiness is cut short when Lucas is sent to fight on the front line, leaving Livvie uncertain if she'll ever see him again. And after a chance encounter with one of Lucas's old flames, Livvie is left doubting whether an ex-factory girl like her will ever fit into his world - and wondering if she would be better off protecting her heart. While her friends in London busy themselves with marriage plans and dreams of babies, Livvie returns to France, throwing herself into her work as a war nurse on the Western Front. But when two German prisoners are admitted at the hospital, the dangers of war suddenly feel much closer to home - and Livvie is forced to be braver than she has ever been before . . . Can Livvie and Lucas find their way to a brighter future before the war tears them apart? Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Maureen Lee and Nadine Dorries. 'Vividly rendered' Historical Novel Society 'A fantastic cast of characters' Goodreads 'Thoroughly absorbing' Goodreads ________________________ The Bittersweet Legacy Series Book 1: A Sister's Bond Book 2: A Lonely Heart Book 3: The Way Home

The Long Way Home

It was harder—way harder—than I thought it would be. It always is for any reporter who ever has to write about their home, particularly when it is a place they love, even if it is with a righteous indignation.

Author: John Demont

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart

ISBN: 9780771025136

Category: History

Page: 368

View: 423

DOWNLOAD →

The province's premier journalist tells the story he was born to write. No journalist has travelled the back roads, hidden vales and fog-soaked coves of Nova Scotia as widely as John DeMont. No writer has spent as much time considering its peculiar warp and weft of humanity, geography and history. The Long Way Home is the summation of DeMont's years of travel, research and thought. It tells the story of what is, from the European view of things, the oldest part of Canada. Before Confederation it was also the richest, but now Nova Scotia is among the poorest. Its defining myths and stories are mostly about loss and sheer determination. Equal parts narrative, memoir and meditation, The Long Way Home chronicles with enthralling clarity a complex and multi-dimensional story: the overwhelming of the first peoples and the arrival of a mélange of pioneers who carved out pockets of the wilderness; the random acts and unexplained mysteries; the shameful achievements and noble failures; the rapture and misery; the twists of destiny and the cold-heartedness of fate. This is the biography of a place that has been hardened by history. A place full of reminders of how great a province it has been and how great—with the right circumstances and a little luck—it could be again.

The Long Way Home

I trudged behind him all the way down the desert sands along the long line of ... He said he would write 'only six' on the door, and write the names of the six there as well to avoid any mistake. So be it.

Author: Lydia Laube

Publisher: Wakefield Press

ISBN: 9781862548992

Category:

Page:

View: 938

DOWNLOAD →