The Racing Driver

In the second, Doug Nye, author & close friend, provides a final tribute to Denis jenkinson. The Racing Driver will appeal to all sports car enthusiasts, particularly those interested in vintage & historic racing.

Author: Denis Jenkinson

Publisher: Bentley Pub

ISBN: UOM:39015004766682

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 207

View: 201

DOWNLOAD →

When The Racing Driver was first published in the U.S. in 1959, Road & Track magazine hailed it as an "excellent book ... the best ever written on contemporary drivers & their racing styles & habits." Over 30 years later, Denis Jenkinson's book has become a classic, highly valued for its historical perspective & views into the personalities of drivers who today seem larger than life. This release of The Racing Driver contains much new material, including a new preface by the author himself. The new foreword is by Stirling Moss, who won the 1955 Mille Miglia with Jenkinson at his side. Also new are two appendices. The first is a discussion the author had with Ayrton Senna on the psychological attributes of the modern race driver. In the second, Doug Nye, author & close friend, provides a final tribute to Denis jenkinson. The Racing Driver will appeal to all sports car enthusiasts, particularly those interested in vintage & historic racing. It belongs on the bookshelf beside Taruffi's The Technique of Motor Racing, which it supplements without repeating.

Motor Racing Heroes

FELICE NAZZARO HAD BRAINS as well as a heavy right foot and he used them well to work his way up from a factory shop floor to motor racing stardom in a career that spanned three decades His favourite technique was to hang back and let ...

Author: Robert Newman

Publisher: Veloce Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 9781845847487

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 384

View: 497

DOWNLOAD →

100 heroes from almost 100 years of motor sport are covered in this book. Revealing the determination, heroism, raw courage, skill at the wheel – and just plain humanity – that has elevated men and women into the special, rarified atmosphere of heroism.

Trigger Mortis

sequences with Moss, or whoever might be chosen for the role, giving some real inside gen on topclass motor racing.' As much as I admire Sir Stirling, I decided not to use him in the story – real celebrities do not tend to make ...

Author: Anthony Horowitz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409159155

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 727

DOWNLOAD →

Literary legend James Bond returns to his 1950s heyday in this exhilarating thriller by Sunday Times bestselling author Anthony Horowitz. It's 1957 and James Bond (agent 007) has only just survived his showdown with Auric Goldfinger at Fort Knox. By his side is Pussy Galore, who was with him at the end. Unknown to either of them, the USSR and the West are in a deadly struggle for technological superiority. And SMERSH is back. The Soviet counter-intelligence agency plans to sabotage a Grand Prix race at the most dangerous track in Europe. But it's Bond who finds himself in the driving seat and events take an unexpected turn when he observes a suspicious meeting between SMERSH's driver and a sinister Korean millionaire, Jai Seong Sin. Soon Bond is pitched into an entirely different race uncovering a plan that could bring the West to its knees. Welcoming back familiar faces, including M and Miss Moneypenny, international bestselling author Anthony Horowitz ticks all the boxes: speed, danger, strong women and fiendish villains, to reinvent the golden age of Bond in this brilliantly gripping adventure. Trigger Mortis is also the first James Bond novel to feature previously unseen Ian Fleming material. This is James Bond as Fleming imagined him.

The Racers How an Outcast Driver an American Heiress and a Legendary Car Challenged Hitler s Best Scholastic Focus

Grand Prix Racing: Facts and Figures. London: G. T. Foulis & Co., 1950. ______. Motor Racing with Mercedes-Benz. Los Angeles: Floyd Clymer, 1945. Moretti, Valerio. Grand Prix Tripoli. Milan: Automobilia, 1994. ______.

Author: Neal Bascomb

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN: 9781338277425

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 336

View: 141

DOWNLOAD →

The heart-pounding story of an unlikely band of ragtags who took on Hitler's Grand Prix driver. In the years before World War II, Adolf Hitler wanted to prove the greatness of the Third Reich in everything from track and field to motorsports. The Nazis poured money into the development of new race cars, and Mercedes-Benz came out with a stable of supercharged automobiles called Silver Arrows. Their drivers dominated the sensational world of European Grand Prix racing and saluted Hitler on their many returns home with victory.As the Third Reich stripped Jews of their rights and began their march toward war, one driver, René Dreyfus, a 32-year-old Frenchman of Jewish heritage who had enjoyed some early successes on the racing circuit, was barred from driving on any German or Italian race teams, which fielded the best in class, due to the rise of Hitler and Benito Mussolini.So it was that in 1937, Lucy Schell, an American heiress and top Monte Carlo Rally driver, needed a racer for a new team she was creating to take on Germany's Silver Arrows. Sensing untapped potential in Dreyfus, she funded the development of a nimble tiger of a new car built by a little-known French manufacturer called Delahaye. As the nations of Europe marched ever closer to war, Schell and Dreyfus faced down Hitler's top drivers, and the world held its breath in anticipation, waiting to see who would triumph.

Car and Driver

THE TECHNIQUE OF MOTOR RACING PIERO TARUFFI THE RACING CAR RACING CAR Maramin $ 35 JUAN MANUEL FANGIO $ 295 ] The Roster les ANTIQUE & CLASSIC RENNWAGEN FORMEL 1 196165 60 ANTIOU САН Rihard Whetky antu Menu PERFORMANCE CARS FROM GERMANY ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015010628389

Category: Automobile drivers

Page:

View: 975

DOWNLOAD →

Alfa Romeo Modello 8C 2300

A qualified engineer, he was variously Technical Director at Gilera and at Cisitalia and was one of the first drivers to study driving methods (writing a book on the technique of motor racing). He died in 1988 at the age of 82.

Author: Angela Cherrett

Publisher: Veloce Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 9781845848743

Category: Transportation

Page: 192

View: 737

DOWNLOAD →

The story of Alfa Romeo’s legendary, four-times Le Mans winning, Modello 8C 2300 of 1931 to 1934 told in definitive detail by expert Angela Cherrett.

Road Track

Valuable and entertaining My Five Favorite Automotive Books The Technique of Motor Racing , Piero Taruffi , Robert Bentley , Inc. , Cambridge , Mass . , 1958 , $ 8.50 , 71/2 x 10 , 128 pp . More technical and specific than Jenkinson's ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X002070075

Category: Automobile racing

Page:

View: 840

DOWNLOAD →

Scare Me to Death

Josh punched the air as I sank next to him and gave him his first lesson in the technique of motor racing. 'What's the most important quality the would-be driver should have?' I asked. 'To drive really fast.' I looked into his shining ...

Author: CJ Carver

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781504069793

Category: Fiction

Page: 356

View: 578

DOWNLOAD →

Digging up the past can be deadly in this “ingeniously plotted, twisty and enthralling” thriller from the CWA Debut Dagger–winning author of Cold Echo (Mystery People). A homemade bomb exploded mid-air, killing 214 people on board. Thirteen people survived . . . Sixteen years later one of the survivors is found brutally murdered. It looks like a crime of passion, but DC Lucy Davies knows something is wrong. They were trying to find the bombers. Lucy’s search for the killer brings her into conflict with her long-lost father—who has his own secrets. Dangerous secrets that Lucy must expose so she can confront a vicious murderer with only one thing on their mind: Keep on killing to stop the truth from being revealed. The perfect read for fans of authors like Sibel Hodge, Caroline Mitchell, and Tim Weaver. Praise for the novels of CJ Carver: “Tell Me a Lie is a fast and ingenious thriller. I’m full of admiration.” —Isabelle Grey, bestselling author of Wrong Way Home “A fabulously disturbing read! Carver really is a must read writer . . . Totally recommend.” —Northern Crime

Motor Racing s Strangest Races

Since 1925, the Tillamook County Fair in Oregon, USA, has staged a curious event in which drivers race around a dirt track at the wheel of a stripped-down Model T Ford while carrying a live 20lb (9.1kg) pig under one arm.

Author: Geoff Tibballs

Publisher: Portico

ISBN: 9781911042570

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 948

DOWNLOAD →

Since 1894, when motor racing’s colourful history began with a bang (and a banger!), drivers, racers and lunatics alike have done many stupid and bizarre things all in the name of motor sport. Author Geoff Tibballs has gathered together this absorbing collection of stories from over a century of motor racing around the world, including the Frenchman who drove 25 miles in reverse, the Grand Prix in which the leading drivers were so far ahead that they stopped for a meal in the pits, the Le Mans 24-hour race won by a car patched up with chewing gum, and the driver who drank six bottles of champagne – virtually one per pit-stop – on the way to winning the Indianapolis 500. The stories in this book are bizarre, fascinating, hilarious, and, most importantly, true. Revised, redesigned and updated for a new generation of petrolheads, this book contains enough extraordinary-but-true tales to drive anyone around the bend. Word count: 45,000

Road and Track

He had always wanted to June Milestones : The first automo bile road race ,. M THE TECHNIQUE OF MOTOR RACING PIERO TARIFFT te Carlo to Monza . Don't be misled by the age of this book . It is still the one " must " book for every ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015015413316

Category: Automobile racing

Page:

View: 656

DOWNLOAD →