The Resurrection of Israel

Copyright © 1968 by Anny Latour Translated from La Résurrection d ' Israël © 1965 by René Julliard All rights reserved . No part of this book may be reproduced without written permission from the publishers , except for brief passages ...

Author: Anny Latour

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015005689834

Category: Israel

Page: 404

View: 142

DOWNLOAD →

The Resurrection of the Messiah

(Minneapolis: Fortress, 1997), 172; Levenson, Resurrection and the Restoration of Israel, 183–91; George W. E. Nickelsburg, Resurrection, Immortality and Eternal Life in Intertestamental Judaism, rev. ed. (Cambridge, Mass.

Author: Christopher Bryan

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190454081

Category: Religion

Page: 456

View: 888

DOWNLOAD →

In The Resurrection of the Messiah, Christopher Bryan combines literary, historical, and theological approaches in a study of the doctrine of the Resurrection. The book is divided into three parts. The first section provides a careful and sympathetic description of first-century Jewish and pagan opinions and beliefs about death and what might follow. This is followed by a presentation of a general account of early Christian claims about the death and resurrection of Jesus of Nazareth. The second part of the book offers a detailed, full-length commentary on and exegesis of the main New Testament texts that speak of Jesus' death and resurrection: 1 Corinthians 15 and the narratives in the four canonical gospels. As a framework for this commentary, Bryan utilizes the pattern of apostolic preaching presented by Paul and then echoed by each of the four evangelists, namely the formula "Christ died, Christ was buried, Christ has been raised, Christ appeared." The final section of the book is spent discussing and evaluating various proposals that have been made by those attempting to explain the data in ways that differ from the traditional Christian explanation. Bryan also considers various theological and ethical implications of accepting the claim "Jesus Christ has been raised from the dead." Throughout his study, Bryan exhibits a willingness to face hard questions as well as an appropriate reverence for a faith that for almost two thousand years has enabled millions of people to lead lives of meaning and grace.

The Resurrection File

What if this archaeological discovery disproves the resurrection? one reporter asked. Wouldn't that be the end of Christianity? Not at all, the panelists replied. One speaker emphasized that “the jury was still out” on 7QA, ...

Author: Craig Parshall

Publisher: Harvest House Publishers

ISBN: 9780736908474

Category: Fiction

Page: 392

View: 467

DOWNLOAD →

When a small-time preacher asks Chambers to defend him against accusations that might not only destroy the man's ministry, but the very foundation of Christian faith, everything in Chambers' non-believing heart says "run away." But the preacher's earnest plea; his lovely and successful daughter, Fiona; and the prosecutor's high-powered efforts to discredit the Gospels' historical integrity prove too heady a mix. Chambers takes the case. Quickly caught up in a conspiracy involving terrorism, top-level government intrigue, and wild legal maneuvering, Chambers is in for the ride of his life.The Resurrection File is a legal thriller with tightly drawn characters, page-turning twists and, at its core, a compelling story of one lawyer's discovery of the truth and power of Christ's message.

Affirming the Resurrection of the Incarnate Christ

That '2'pXouou is used to describe the resurrection appearances of Jesus and structure the resurrection narrative of ... use in the Johannine writings, he has a separate section on the use of 2pxouoo referring to the resurrected Jesus.

Author: Matthew D. Jensen

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781107027299

Category: Bibles

Page: 227

View: 535

DOWNLOAD →

Revision of the author's Ph.D. thesis, submitted to the University of Sydney in 2010.

Debates over the Resurrection of the Dead

latter happens only at the ascension, forty days after the resurrection.145 After the ascension, Jesus is no longer seen bodily. According to Acts, when Paul encounters the resurrected Jesus, he sees a light and hears a voice and in the ...

Author: Outi Lehtipuu

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 9780191037788

Category: Religion

Page: 272

View: 129

DOWNLOAD →

In Debates over the Resurrection of the Dead, Outi Lehtipuu highlights the striking observation that in many early texts the way that belief in resurrection is formulated is used as a sign of inclusion and exclusion, not only in relation to non-Christians but vis-à-vis other Christians. Those who teach otherwise have deviated from the truth, are not true Christians, and do the works of the devil. Using insights from the sociological study of deviance, Dr Lehtipuu demonstrates that labelling was used as a tool for marking boundaries between those who belonged and those who did not. This was extremely important in the fluid conditions where the small Christian minority groups found themselves. In a situation where there were no universally accepted structures that defined what constituted the true Christian belief, several competing interpretations and their representatives struggled for recognition of their views based on what they believed to be the apostolic tradition. The most hotly-debated aspect of resurrection was whether it would entail the body of flesh and blood or not. When resurrection would take place was closely related to this. Controversies died since the scriptural legacy was ambiguous enough to allow different hermeneutical solutions. The battle over resurrection was closely related to the question of how scriptures were to be understood as well as to what constituted the human self that would survive death. To demonstrate this a wide variety of texts are studied, from theological treatises (including relevant Nag Hammadi texts) to apocryphal acts and martyrologies. Acknowledging the complexity and diversity of the early Christian movement, this volume views early Christian discourse as part of the broader ancient discursive world where similar debates were going on among both Jews and the majority population.

The Resurrection the Life

Just as Adam is a representational figure of failed humanity , the risen Christ represents renewed , resurrected humanity . Through Adam , death came into the world ; through Christ will come the resurrection of the dead ( verses 21–22 ) ...

Author: Stephen J. Binz

Publisher: Twenty-Third Publications

ISBN: 1585953679

Category: Religion

Page: 120

View: 292

DOWNLOAD →

Jesus said, ?I am the Resurrection and the Life.? Jesus is God's greatest victory and likewise he is the fulfillment of humanity's deepest longing. Because of the resurrection of Jesus a new age has dawned and life will never be the same again. What exactly did happen on Easter morning? Why did it impel the disciples to begin a journey which would transform the world? What does this mean to us, here where we live today? This book will help you understand what the Scriptures teach us about our own resurrection and how that hope gives purpose to everything that we do.

The Resurrection of the Dead

A Vindication of the Literal Resurrection of the Human Body; in Opposition to the Work of Proffessor Bush Calvin Kingsley. so in dead . For as in Adam all die , even Christ shall all be made alive . But every man in his own order ...

Author: Calvin Kingsley

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435001053891

Category: Resurrection

Page: 159

View: 806

DOWNLOAD →

The Resurrection in the New Testament

It is noteworthy that in this classic passage Paul does not in any way describe , or even define , the resurrection ; he rather takes it for granted , deals with it as a matter accepted by his readers as fully as by himself .

Author: Clayton Raymond Bowen

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044069675338

Category: Bible

Page: 492

View: 736

DOWNLOAD →

The Resurrection Tablet

“Tell me!” “It said that Jesus Christ was never resurrected from the dead. It said that His bones were taken away and hidden in a location indicated on the tablet, and the story of His resurrection.

Author: J. Robert Kennedy

Publisher: UnderMill Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 794

DOWNLOAD →

"James Acton: A little bit of Jack Bauer and Indiana Jones!" *** FROM USA TODAY & MILLION COPY BESTSELLING AUTHOR J. ROBERT KENNEDY *** CHRIST WAS RESURRECTED AFTER DYING FOR OUR SINS. OR WAS HE? The Eastern Roman Empire is weak, its enemies threatening from all sides. The widowed Empress Eudokia, in a desperate attempt to save her empire for her young son to inherit, marries not for love, but duty. Yet who she chooses shocks the empire. The traitor Romanus Diogenes. The new emperor sets out to secure the empire, and in the process, makes a discovery so shocking, it calls into question everything Christianity believes, but he dies before he can confirm what he has found. A thousand years later, what he discovered is found once again, triggering a race to find the truth. A truth that will rock Christianity forever. In The Resurrection Tablet, award winning USA Today and million copy bestselling author J. Robert Kennedy delivers a history-twisting thriller that demands to be read in a single sitting. If you enjoy fast-paced adventures in the style of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, and James Rollins, then you'll love this thrilling tale of archaeological intrigue. Get your copy of The Resurrection Tablet today, and discover the truth about what happened after Christ’s crucifixion… About the James Acton Thrillers: ★★★★★ "James Acton: A little bit of Jack Bauer and Indiana Jones!" Though this book is part of the James Acton Thrillers series, it is written as a standalone novel and can be enjoyed without having read any other installments. ★★★★★ "Non-stop action that is impossible to put down." The James Acton Thrillers series and its spin-offs, the Special Agent Dylan Kane Thrillers and the Delta Force Unleashed Thrillers, have sold over one million copies. If you love non-stop action and intrigue with a healthy dose of humor, try James Acton today! ★★★★★ "A great blend of history and current headlines." USA Today bestselling author J. Robert Kennedy’s novels are ideal for fans of Dan Brown, Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Tom Clancy, and James Patterson, and those who enjoy intense action and intrigue with a healthy dose of humor and a touch of romance. Readers interested in action adventure, archaeological mysteries, historical fiction, men’s adventure, conspiracies and ancient mysteries, will love the James Acton Thrillers. If spies and espionage is your thing, then check out the CIA Special Agent Dylan Kane Thrillers for riveting tradecraft action. And for those who prefer the team approach and Special Forces, check out the Delta Force Unleashed series for exciting military thrills. Or maybe you just feel like a mystery? Check out the Detective Shakespeare Mysteries for dark, intense psychological thrillers. Into the Templars? Then the Templar Detective Thrillers are for you!

The resurrection of our Lord

Mr. Prudot , in his work “ La Résurrection de Jésus Christ , ” p . 299 , gives a Declaration signed at a General Conference of Pastors and Elders of the French Protestant Church held in Paris , A.D. 1865 , which contains the following ...

Author: William Milligan

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:590682483

Category:

Page:

View: 472

DOWNLOAD →