The Reckoning

(Book 2 of The Immortal Trilogy) Alma Katsu. behavior and, finding none, pushed the stacks ofpaper to the floor in frustration. He stood back and tried to recall what Jude was always saying to him: Everything is dam zlertronically.

Author: Alma Katsu

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781446439050

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 963

DOWNLOAD →

I turned to Luke and reached for him. My blood felt as though it had seized up in my veins. "Lanny, what is it?" Luke asked. I clutched his lapel desperately "It's Adair. He's free." FOR 200 YEARS SHE'S BEEN HIDING He gave her immortality. She tried to destroy him. Now he is searching for her. They must not meet. Or there will be a RECKONING

Star Trek Voyager Seven s Reckoning 2

TM STAR TREK VOYAGER SEVEN'S RECKONING Writer Dave Baker Artist Colorist Angel Hernandez Ronda Pattison Letterer Neil Uyetake Editor Chase W. Marotz 8 Special thanks to Risa Kessler , Marian Cordry , Dayton Ward , and John Van Citters ...

Author: Dave Baker

Publisher: IDW Publishing

ISBN: PKEY:OCT200471

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 30

View: 722

DOWNLOAD →

Seven of Nine’s commitment to the Prime Directive will be put to the test as she finds herself being pulled deeper and deeper into an ancient conflict between two classes of the same alien species. As tensions continue to rise, it seems like old grudges may spiral into an all-out rebellion...

Bede The Reckoning of Time

7.6.15 66(4007) Paulinus, Vita Ambrosii 7.6.17 66(4007) 7.7.10 66(4021) 7.13.2 66(4090) 7.13.4-5 66(4090) 7.14.2 66(4113) 7.15.2 66(4132) 7.16.1 66(4145) 7.16.2 66(4145) 7.16.5-6 66(4146) 7.17.4 66(4163) 7.17.6-7 66(4163) 7.18.3 ...

Author: Beda (Venerabilis.)

Publisher: Liverpool University Press

ISBN: 9780853236931

Category: History

Page: 479

View: 362

DOWNLOAD →

From the patristic age until the Gregorian calendar reform of 1582, computus -- the science of time reckoning and art of calendar construction -- was a matter of intense concern. Bede's The Reckoning of Time (De temporum ratione) was the first comprehensive treatise on this subject and the model and reference for all subsequent teaching discussion and criticism of the Christian calendar. It is a systematic exposition of the Julian solar calendar and the Paschal table of Dionysius Exiguus, with their related formulae for calculating dates. But it is more than a technical handbook. Bede sets calendar lore within a broad scientific framework and a coherent Christian concept of time, and incorporates themes as diverse as the theory of tides and the doctrine of the millennium. This translation of the full text of The Reckoning of Time includes an extensive historical introduction and a chapter-by-chapter commentary. It will interest historians of medieval science, theology, and education, Bede scholars and Anglo-Saxonists, liturgists, and Church historians. It will also serve as an accessible introduction to computus itself. Generations of medieval computists nourished their expertise in Bede's orderly presentation; modern scholars in quest of safe passage through this complex terrain can hope for no better guide.

The Reckoning

2 Glantz, The Art Of War Symposium, p.489 3 See P. Buttar, Germany Ascendant: The Eastern Front, 1915 (Osprey, Oxford, 2015), p.118–57 4 J. Critchfield, Partners at the Creation: The Men Behind Germany's Postwar Defense and Intelligence ...

Author: Prit Buttar

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781472837882

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 858

DOWNLOAD →

The Reckoning is vivid history, the tragic Eastern Front brought to life through the widest range of Russian and German sources I've ever read. Bravo.' -- Peter Caddick-Adams, author and broadcaster A detailed and engrossing account of the fighting in Ukraine in 1944, making use of the extensive memoirs of German and Russian soldiers involved in the fighting, as well as partisans behind the German lines, to bring the story to life. By the end of 1944 the Red Army was poised on the very frontiers of the Third Reich. How had the once unstoppable, mighty Wehrmacht faltered so disastrously? Certainly it had suffered defeats before, in particular the vast catastrophe of Stalingrad, but it was in 1944 that the war was ultimately lost. It was no longer a case of if but rather when the Red Army would be at the gates of Berlin. Prit Buttar retraces the ebb and flow of the various battles and campaigns fought throughout the Ukraine and Romania in 1944. January and February saw Army Group South encircled in the Korsun Pocket. Although many of the encircled troops did escape, in part due to Soviet intelligence and command failures, the Red Army would endeavour to not make the same mistakes again. Indeed, in the coming months the Red Army would demonstrate an ability to learn and improve, reinventing itself as a war-winning machine, demonstrated clearly in its success in the Iasi-Kishinev operation. The view of the Red Army as a huge, unskilled horde that rolled over everything in its path is just one myth that The Reckoning reassesses. So too does it re-evaluate the apparent infallibility of German military commanders, the denial of any involvement in (or often even knowledge of) the heinous crimes committed in the occupied territories by German forces, and the ineffectiveness of Axis allies, such as the Romanians at Iasi, to withstand the Soviet forces. Like all myths, these contain many truths, but also a great many distortions, all of which are skilfully unpicked and analysed in this powerful retelling of 1944 on the Eastern Front.

Poems of Reckoning and Hope

Félix Garmendía. The Reckoning 2 Tree Spirits “You can retest.” Three months. I see it III III - The Reckoning.

Author: Félix Garmendía

Publisher: Pearlsong Press

ISBN: 9781597191005

Category: Poetry

Page: 150

View: 263

DOWNLOAD →

In his second collection of poems, we meet Félix Garmendía again after he has been settled in Washington Heights for years with his husband, Denis. With Denis, he and his wheelchair Purple Raven swing around Fort Tryon Park, the streets, the building, and the apartment in all seasons. There Félix bears witness to some of the most frightening occurrences of the last fifty years: the disinformation and bigotry of a feral, out-of-control administration, the explosion of racism, the pandemic, and the storming of the Capitol. Through his eyes we watch exhausted healthcare workers exit hospitals, still wearing their equipment, to a universal round of applause, played out differently in every New York neighborhood. We see Black people murdered by police. We shiver with anger at the blend of authoritarianism and misinformed rage that almost guts the heart of our democracy. And yet through it all, through Félix, we also find the grace and courage to laugh and find our own oases of hope. Félix is a poet, HIV+ survivor, and disabled due to Inclusion Body Myositis. He survived his early years in conservative Catholic Puerto Rico and arrived in Manhattan, New York City, in 1988. His poems narrate his life as a gay activist, poet, and storyteller in the face of illness and intolerance. Because of his Inclusion Body Myositis, Félix has become adept at typing with one finger. He has also become incredibly, enchantingly adept at capturing the mood of a year, a day, a season, a place. As in his first poetry collection, Flying On Invisible Wings, Félix sculpts with words the very heart of his wishes, hopes, failings, and cares. But here they are often the wishes, hopes, failings, and cares of a nation, as well. ​​​​​​​With Félix, we emerge from the deluge that the last few years have brought into our lives. We find the calm place again.

The Reckoning Debt Democracy and the Future of American Power

Republican, Texas), March 2, 2011, http://hutchison.senate.gov/?p=press _release&id=478. Anita Dancs, “The Cost of the Global U.S. Military Presence” (Washington, DC: Foreign Policy in Focus, July 2; 2009), accessed September 2011, ...

Author: Michael Moran

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 9781137000422

Category: Political Science

Page: 256

View: 746

DOWNLOAD →

A leading forecaster of economic and political trends takes a sharp look at the decline of American influence in the world, and how it can prepare for the new reality. The age of American global dominance is ending. Today, a host of forces are converging to challenge its cherished notion of exceptionalism, and risky economic and foreign policies have steadily eroded the power structure in place since the Cold War. Staggering under a huge burden of debt, the country must make some tough choices—or cede sovereignty to its creditors. In The Reckoning, Michael Moran, geostrategy analyst explores the challenges ahead -- and what, if anything, can be prevent chaos as America loses its perch at the top of the mountain. Covering developments like unprecedented information technologies, the growing prosperity of China, India, Brazil, and Turkey, and the diminished importance of Wall Street in the face of global markets, Moran warns that the coming shift will have serious consequences not just for the United States, but for the wider world. Countries that have traditionally depended on the United States for protection and global stability will have to fend for themselves. Moran describes how, with a bit of wise leadership, America can transition to this new world order gracefully—by managing entitlements, reigniting sustainable growth, reforming immigration policy, launching new regional dialogues that bring friend and rival together in cooperative multinational structures, and breaking the poisonous deadlock in Washington. If not, he warns, history won't wait.

The Art of Cruelty A Reckoning

... Maggie, 1973– The art of cruelty: a reckoning/Maggie Nelson. — 1st ed. p. cm. Includes bibliographical references and index. ISBN 978-0-393-07215-0 (hardcover) 1. Cruelty in art. 2. Art—Moral and ethical aspects. I. Title. II.

Author: Maggie Nelson

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393082234

Category: Art

Page: 304

View: 483

DOWNLOAD →

"This is criticism at its best." —Carolyn Kellogg, Los Angeles Times Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath’s poetry to Francis Bacon’s paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono’s performance art, Nelson’s nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

The Reckoning Heritage of Lancaster County Book 3

... 978-0-7642-0465-4 The Library of Congress has cataloged the original edition as follows: Lewis, Beverly. The reckoning / by Beverly Lewis. p. cm. — (The heritage of Lancaster County; 3) ISBN 1-55661-868-9 (pbk.) 1. Amish—Fiction. 2.

Author: Beverly Lewis

Publisher: Bethany House

ISBN: 1441203451

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 504

DOWNLOAD →

Unknown to Katie, her long-lost love seeks her even as she has another interest. Yet she yearns for peace, which requires facing her plain heritage.

The Complete Concordance to Shakspere

3 our hearts receive your warnings ... ii . and from his coffers received the golden ii . 9 nature may recoil , in an imperious . ... 3 have you received no promise of ii , 2 to call young Claudio to a reckoning Much Ado , v .

Author: Mary Cowden Clarke

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112057490002

Category:

Page: 860

View: 734

DOWNLOAD →