The Oracle Glass

"An outstanding historical novel of 17th century France ... based on a real life scandal known as the Affaire des Poisons, this tale is riveting from start to finish."—Library Journal Her ability to see the future may prevent her from ...

Author: Judith Merkle Riley

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN: 9781402270598

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 867

DOWNLOAD →

New York Times and USA Today Bestseller! "Absorbing and arresting." —New York Times "Fascinating and factual." —Los Angeles Times "Chilly, witty, and completely engrossing ... great, good fun." — Kirkus Reviews "An outstanding historical novel of 17th–century France ... based on a real–life scandal known as the Affaire des Poisons, this tale is riveting from start to finish." —Library Journal For a handful of gold, Madame de Morville will read your future in a glass of swirling water. You'll believe her, because you know she's more than 150 years old and a witch, and she has all of Paris in the palm of her hand. But Madame de Morville hides more behind her black robes than you know. Her real age, the mother and uncle who left her for dead, the inner workings of the most secret society of Parisian witches: none of these truths would help her outwit the rich who so desperately want the promise of the future. After all, it's her own future she must control , no matter how much it is painted with uncertainty and clouded by vengeance. "Take a full cup of wit, two teaspoons of brimstone, and a dash of poison, and you have Judith Merkle Riley's mordant, compelling tale of an ambitious young woman who disguises herself as an ancient prophetess in order to gain entry into the dangerous, scheming glamour of the Sun King's court. Based on scandalous true events, The Oracle Glass brims with our human foibles, passions, and eccentricities; it's a classic of the genre and unlike any historical novel you have ever read." —C. W. Gortner, author of The Confessions of Catherine de Medici

The Oracle Encyclopaedia

enets colours employed are oxides or other combinations of metals , and nearly all of them are mixed or fused with fluxes and applied to the glass in a finely - powdered state in a vehicle of thickened oil of turpentine .

Author: R. W. Egerton Eastwick

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105015579126

Category:

Page:

View: 945

DOWNLOAD →

The Oracle

The table is raised by a similar expedient , ndo , Myths , & superstitions $ The Oracle ** the stage ... in which a thick but very clear sheet of plate - glass The annual subscription to the Oracle , induding slides up and down .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112113989427

Category: Research

Page:

View: 489

DOWNLOAD →

Fortress Book 1 The Rise of the Oracle

The Three columns moved forward advancing on the glass castle with surprising speed. The clouds overhead darkened as if to match the evil swirling clouds behind the glass. Portrayus had been biding his time waiting for this moment which ...

Author: C.A. Pike

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781257644698

Category:

Page:

View: 556

DOWNLOAD →

In Pursuit of the Green Lion

In Pursuit of the Green Lion, the second novel in The Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Ariana Franklin, Andrew Caldecott and Susanna Clarke. ‘Fascinating and factual.

Author: Judith Merkle Riley

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788633147

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 583

DOWNLOAD →

The unforgettable Margaret of Ashbury returns in the second book of this historical medieval trilogy Margaret, a resourceful midwife, is living with the insufferable relatives of her third husband, Gilbert de Vilers, known as Gregory. She is carving out a life for her and her daughters despite the hostility and greed of her in-laws. But when Gregory is captured in France and held for ransom, Margaret knows she must take action... With in-laws as tight-fisted as hers, she must rely on old friends Mother Hilde, the herbalist, and Brother Malachi, an alchemist on a quest for the secret of changing base metals into gold. Together the trio plan to rescue Gregory and bring him back to London, where he and Margaret can start a new life away from his meddling family. Margaret will not only need her special gift of healing, her quick mind, and her independent spirit but the loyalty of her friends and the love of her new husband to carry them all safely home. In Pursuit of the Green Lion, the second novel in The Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy, is perfect for fans of Ariana Franklin, Andrew Caldecott and Susanna Clarke. ‘Fascinating and factual... If all chronicles of earthly life were recorded with such drama, flair, and wit, the world would be full of history majors’ Los Angeles Times 'Arresting and absorbing... rich with the ambience and flavor of the Middle Ages... a fourteenth-century story told with a twentieth-century sensibility’ The New York Times Book Review

The Nail and the Oracle

“Bring me a extra shot-glass with the brandy.” The bartender walked to the far end and got an old kitchen chair with the back off it, and carried it back and set it down. Grunting, he got up on it and reached for a bottle on the fourth ...

Author: Theodore Sturgeon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780575110069

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 276

DOWNLOAD →

This book contains ten major stories by the master of science fiction, fantasy, and horror written during the 1960s. The controversial "If All Men We re Brothers, Would You Let One Marry Your Sister?" shows the author's technique of "ask the next question" used in a way that shatters social conventions. "When You Care, When You Love" offers a prescient vision of the marriage of deep obsessive love and genetic manipulation, written long before actual cloning techniques existed. "Runesmith" constitutes a rare example of Sturgeon collaborating with a legendary colleague, Harlan Ellison. Included also are two other rarities: two detective stories and a Western that showcase Sturgeon's knack for characterization and action outside his usual genre. "Take Care of Joey" has been read as an allusion to the complex personal relationship between Sturgeon and Ellison, while "It Was Nothing, Really!" hilariously skewers the mores of the military-industrial complex. As always, these stories demonstrate not only Sturgeon's brilliant wordplay but also his timeliness, with "Brown-shoes" and "The Nail and the Oracle" standing out as powerful commentaries on the use and abuse of power that might have been written yesterday.

A Vision of Light

Young, wealthy and twice married, Margaret has a modest enough ambition: she wishes to write a book. But this is 1355, and the notion of a woman wanting to record her experiences and thoughts is not just arrogant, it’s possibly heretical.

Author: Judith Merkle Riley

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788633130

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 342

DOWNLOAD →

A village girl receives a divine vision that will lead her into the chambers of the English Inquisition... Young, wealthy and twice married, Margaret has a modest enough ambition: she wishes to write a book. But this is 1355, and the notion of a woman wanting to record her experiences and thoughts is not just arrogant, it’s possibly heretical. Three clerics contemptuously decline to be Margaret’s scribe, and it is only starvation that persuades Brother Gregory, a renegade Carthusian friar with a mysterious past, to take on the unseemly task of chronicling her life. As she narrates her life story, an extraordinary tale unfolds filled with perilous brushes with death, where a mix of miracle and Margaret’s innate intellect pull her through. But this is a world where a clever woman is at constant risk of being accused of witchcraft... A Vision of Light, first in the critically acclaimed historical Margaret of Ashbury Trilogy is a remarkable novel that challenges all of our notions about women’s roles in the medieval era, perfect for fans of Ariana Franklin, Sarah Perry and Jessie Burton. ‘Both arresting and absorbing’ The New York Times ‘Fascinating and factual...If all chronicles of earthly life were recorded with such drama, flair, and wit, the world would be full of history majors’ Los Angeles Times

The Master of All Desires

Queen Catherine de Medici's astrologer, the prophet Nostradamus, has divined a dreadful secret: To get rid of her husband's mistress, the queen is trying to obtain the Undying Head of Menander, the Master of All Desires.

Author: Judith Merkle Riley

Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark

ISBN: 1402270615

Category: Fiction

Page: 458

View: 442

DOWNLOAD →

In 1556, the prophet Nostradamus stumbles upon a plot by the queen, Catherine de Medicis, to rid herself of the king's mistress and races against time to stop the queen from acquiring a magical but cursed artifact before it is too late.

Replies afterw The Oracle

The saloon some years ago received a very elegant curved roof , with , anels - or compartments of Cheap Looking - Glass . - Can you tell me the cheapest way of Books wanted to purchase . embossed glass , designed by Mr. Bunning ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:590736485

Category:

Page:

View: 453

DOWNLOAD →