The Mercy Rule

. Praise for The Mercy Rule “Very entertaining . . . a large and emotionally sprawling novel.”—Chicago Tribune “As usual in a Lescroart novel, character dominates plot as the author proves, yet again, that resonant drama can be ...

Author: John Lescroart

Publisher: Dell

ISBN: 9780593156537

Category: Fiction

Page: 640

View: 644

DOWNLOAD →

“A stylish whodunit . . . Lescroart [is] in his best form yet.”—People Once Dismas Hardy was a cop. Now he spends his days in a lawyer’s suit, billing hours to a corporate client in a downtown San Francisco office. Hardy’s wife and kids like it that way. Then one client changes everything. Graham Russo, a former baseball star, is charged with murdering his dying father. Was it suicide, the last desperate act of a dying man? Was it murder? Or mercy? Now, as a carnival of reporters, activists, cops, lovers, and families throng around the case, Dismas Hardy is going to trial with a client he doesn’t trust, a key witness he cannot believe, and a system that almost destroyed him once. For Dismas, this case will challenge everything he believes about the law, about his family, and about himself. Because a chilling truth is beginning to emerge about an old man’s lonely death. And what Dismas knows could put him next in line to die. . . . Praise for The Mercy Rule “Very entertaining . . . a large and emotionally sprawling novel.”—Chicago Tribune “As usual in a Lescroart novel, character dominates plot as the author proves, yet again, that resonant drama can be found in family.”—The Philadelphia Inquirer “An edge-of-the-seat legal thriller that has it all—hot-button issues, deception, greed, corruption, and a labyrinthine plot that will keep you guessing until the very last page.”—Faye Kellerman

The Mercy Rule

After overcoming a difficult childhood in foster care, pediatrician Lucy Weiss, a suburban wife and mother, finds herself back in the world of families living on the edge as she begins working with at-risk young patients and their families.

Author: Perri Klass

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0547237847

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 102

DOWNLOAD →

After overcoming a difficult childhood in foster care, pediatrician Lucy Weiss, a suburban wife and mother, finds herself back in the world of families living on the edge as she begins working with at-risk young patients and their families.

The Mercy Rule Dismas Hardy series book 5

It's called the mercy rule. The way the sponsors bet, they get double, sometimes more, if the game's mercy-ruled. The players get a bonus.' 'That happen a lot?' 'Team full of ringers like us? Yeah, I'd say.' 'So the guy who sponsors ...

Author: John Lescroart

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755393404

Category: Fiction

Page: 441

View: 618

DOWNLOAD →

Was it suicide? Was it murder? Or was it mercy...? Dismas Hardy takes on his most morally complex trial yet in The Mercy Rule, John Lescroart's fifth book of the series. Perfect for fans of Deborah Hawkins and Steve Cavanagh. 'Very entertaining... a large and emotionally sprawling novel' - Chicago Tribune An old man suffering from the implacable advance of Alzheimer's is found dead, an empty morphine vial by his side: obviously suicide. Or did someone - a loving son, perhaps, help him die? Who would blame him? But Graham Russo insists he had nothing to do with his father's death. A claim, that as more and more incriminating evidence comes to light, even his lawyer, Dismas Hardy, finds increasingly hard to believe. But despite his unease about his engaging but unreliable client, Hardy knows there is no way he can abandon Russo when the politicians turn him into the pawn at the heart of the media issue of the year... What readers are saying about The Mercy Rule: 'Breath-taking plot in a book you wouldn't miss' 'A constant page turner' 'Wonderful characters, intriguing mystery'

Mercy Rule

“Even if it's a mercy rule?” “A what?” Danny sits there for a long time before standing up and staring at the traffic. I don't think he sees it. “In football... in high school football, I mean ... they've got this thing called the mercy ...

Author: Tom Leveen

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781510727014

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 456

View: 736

DOWNLOAD →

Danny’s parents yanked him from the art school that let him wear a kilt and listen to bands that no one’s heard of. Now he’s starting sophomore year at the public high school—the one with the gymnasium at the heart of the building and the glorified athletes who rule it all. The smart thing would be to blend in, but Danny has always been about making statements. Brady just wants to get out. Go to college, play football, maybe reach the NFL. He definitely wants to stop waiting for his deadbeat mother to come home, sleeping on park benches, and going to bed hungry. But first he has to lead the team to the championships. It all adds up to a lot of stress. So who can really blame him when he and the football team turn their aggressions on the new freak? Even the quarterback needs to blow off steam sometimes. Coach turns a blind eye to his players’ crimes—because this year, they’re going to State. But maybe if Coach had paid more attention they could’ve caught it before it all happened. Maybe it could’ve been avoided. Maybe. With quick cuts between a large cast of unforgettable characters, and razor-sharp plotting, Tom Leveen takes readers on a countdown to an inevitable, horrifying act. This gripping novel offers an intense, smart perspective on the tragic, toxic mindsets behind the celebrated American sport and the monsters it creates.

The Mercy Rule

The second game we got a bonus of a thousand bucks on the mercy rule . That's how it works . ” “ Two grand a day ? ” “ Best case , if we win . If we'd lost the first game , I would have made fifty dollars , so we're motivated to win .

Author: John T. Lescroart

Publisher: G K Hall & Company

ISBN: 0783803443

Category: Fiction

Page: 684

View: 423

DOWNLOAD →

As his marriage threatens to dissolve, defense attorney Dismas Hardy takes the side of a semi-successful baseball player accused of the mercy killing of his terminally ill father

The Mercy Rule

As his marriage threatens to dissolve, defense attorney Dismas Hardy takes the side of a semi-successful baseball player accused of the mercy killing of his terminally ill father

Author: John T. Lescroart

Publisher: G K Hall & Company

ISBN: 0783803443

Category: Fiction

Page: 684

View: 145

DOWNLOAD →

As his marriage threatens to dissolve, defense attorney Dismas Hardy takes the side of a semi-successful baseball player accused of the mercy killing of his terminally ill father

The Mercy Rule

Was it suicide, mercy, or murder? Riveting legal suspense, combined with masterful storytelling makes The Mercy Rule a big, bold masterpiece of suspense.

Author: John Lescroart

Publisher: G K Hall & Company

ISBN: 078380394X

Category: Fiction

Page: 684

View: 324

DOWNLOAD →

Vowing to spend more time with his wife and kids, Dismas Hardy is hesitant to take on the case of Graham Russo, a could-have-been -- great baseball player indicted for the murder of his father, Sal. Everyone knows that Sal was dying and had to be given morphine injections for his suffering, but Graham insists he wasn't the one who administered the fatal overdose. Was it suicide, mercy, or murder? Riveting legal suspense, combined with masterful storytelling makes The Mercy Rule a big, bold masterpiece of suspense.

Strategies Tactics for the MBE

The facts, and a quick glance at the answers, suggest that the question concerns the Mercy Rule—a criminal defendant's right to introduce evidence of his pertinent trait of good character. (B) is the best response, because it correctly ...

Author: Steven Emanuel

Publisher: Wolters Kluwer

ISBN: 9781543816730

Category: Study Aids

Page: 9976

View: 375

DOWNLOAD →

The Seventh Edition of Strategies & Tactics for the MBE has been carefully revised by Steve Emanuel and is full of up-to-date advice on how to analyze Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) questions in all MBE subject areas (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property with Future Interests, and Torts). Steve Emanuel—author of the Emanuel Law Outlines and CrunchTime books in the MBE-subject areas—has passed the bar exam in several states (including New York and California) and worked with law students to prepare them for taking the MBE. New to the Seventh Edition: 30 additional Civil Procedure questions, all recently asked on the MBE and released by examiners, with detailed answers by Steve Emanuel Recently released actual MBE questions in Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Property, and Torts (also with detailed answers by Steve Emanuel) Key features include: Fully explained answers that not only analyze each answer option for each question, but also explain doctrines or rules that are necessary for answering the question and that you may not have encountered since your first year in law school Detailed advice on how to handle MBE questions in each of the MBE subject areas Step-by-step strategies for analyzing different question types Tips about how subtle differences in wording can change the meaning of an answer Strategies for “rewording” questions in your mind to make them easier to analyze Over 550 questions in the MBE topics (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law and Procedure, Evidence, Real Property and Future Interests, and Torts) that were asked on past MBEs A complete MBE-style 200-question practice exam with detailed answers