The Italian House

Yes, the house is yours. The Italian house. The Villa Castellini. Hers. She leaned into the wind, struggled the last few steps to the small wooden gate that was set in the low, clipped privet hedge of number 11. The concrete path led, ...

Author: Teresa Crane

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781910859490

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 140

DOWNLOAD →

A haunting story of inescapable passion amidst the groves of 1920s Tuscany. When Carrie Stowe unexpectedly inherits her eccentric grandmother’s Italian villa, she sets her heart on escaping the suffocating and toxic reality of life with her repressive husband, Arthur. But after arriving late at night during a violent storm, she discovers that she is not alone. Waiting for her in the darkness is Leo, a mysterious figure from her past. As Carrie sifts through the secrets of her grandmother’s diaries, she finds herself increasingly drawn to Leo. Entangled in a vice of obsession, she must ask herself: is he really who he claims to be? The Italian House is a spellbinding saga perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop and Elena Ferrante. Praise for The Italian House 'A wonderfully rich web of intrigue and romance, love and betrayal' Barbara Erskine

Shakespeare and the Italian Renaissance

Fusio and his wife”, who were staying at his house, knew, Pereman explained, of their host's interest in prostitutes.23 In these pursuits, Palavicino may have followed his uncle. William Mekyns, a pimp who carried clients to young women ...

Author: Professor Michele Marrapodi

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 9781472448415

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 388

View: 551

DOWNLOAD →

Shakespeare and the Italian Renaissance investigates the works of Shakespeare and his fellow dramatists from within the context of the European Renaissance and, more specifically, from within the context of Italian cultural, dramatic, and literary traditions, with reference to the impact and influence of classical, coeval, and contemporary culture. In contrast to previous studies, the critical perspectives pursued in this volume’s tripartite organization take into account a wider European intertextual dimension and, above all, an ideological interpretation of the 'aesthetics' or 'politics' of intertextuality. Contributors perceive the presence of the Italian world in early modern England not as a traditional treasure trove of influence and imitation, but as a potential cultural force, consonant with complex processes of appropriation, transformation, and ideological opposition through a continuous dialectical interchange of compliance and subversion.

Reports of the Immigration Commission

The family in dress , food , and manner of life cling to the old Italian customs , but they have Americanized the home . The average Italian house of two or four rooms , cheap , unattractive , often ugly , has been described .

Author: United States. Immigration Commission (1907-1910)

Publisher:

ISBN: UCD:31175010154816

Category: Emigration and immigration

Page: 468

View: 108

DOWNLOAD →

The History of Italy

... of the Italian House of Este . The Pope asserted his title by escheat to the broad and fair domains which that House had possessed as feudatories of the Holy See ; the principality which was held from the emperor passed unquestioned ...

Author: Isaac Butt

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 9783375100506

Category: Fiction

Page: 554

View: 269

DOWNLOAD →

Reprint of the original, first published in 1860.

The Elves

She was married out of my house . " " Exactly . And to whom ? " " An Italian of good birth , who was then employed by the Austrian government in some minor post , and subsequently promoted to a better one in the Italian dominion , which ...

Author: Ludwig Tieck

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015008186598

Category:

Page: 684

View: 654

DOWNLOAD →

Transregional Lordship and the Italian Renaissance

A key debate has been whether René was a trustworthy servant of the House of Savoy or a devious plotter ready to commit treason at the drop of a hat. The evidence presented here suggests that this is a false dichotomy, ...

Author: Matthew Vester

Publisher: Amsterdam University Press

ISBN: 9789048550678

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 625

DOWNLOAD →

René de Challant, whose holdings ranged from northwestern Italy to the Alps and over the mountains into what is today western Switzerland and eastern France, was an Italian and transregional dynast. The spatially-dispersed kind of lordship that he practiced and his lifetime of service to the house of Savoy, especially in the context of the Italian Wars, show how the Sabaudian lands, neighboring Alpine states, and even regions further afield were tied to the history of the Italian Renaissance. Situating René de Challant on the edge of the Italian Renaissance helps us to understand noble kin relations, political networks, finances, and lordship with more precision. A spatially inflected analysis of René's life brings to light several themes related to transregional lordship that have been obscured due to the traditional tendencies of Renaissance studies. It uncovers an 'Italy' whose boundaries extend not just into the Mediterranean, but into regions beyond the Alps.

The Portable Italian Mamma

She launched her first fashion show in 1972, and the House of Biagiotti became one of the largest fashion houses in Italy. She moved to Beijing for some time and was the first Italian designer to present a collection in China in April ...

Author: Laura Mosiello

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781440520396

Category: Humor

Page: 288

View: 992

DOWNLOAD →

YouÆre so skinnyùwhat have you been eating? Have you spoken to your brothers today? Would it kill you to go to Mass with your mother? Everyone who has every walked into an Italian motherÆs kitchen has been met with a kiss on the cheek and spoonful of her special gravyùwhether youÆre a relative, friend, friend of a relative, or paperboy. This book packs the kisses, sauces, and everything and anything else expected from Ma into a funny and poignant book. Authors Laura Mosiello and Susan Reynolds cook up and serve plenty of recipes, jokes, facts, and stories for Italians and non-Italians alike. They deliver the same wisdom and love Mama has been talking about (with her hands) for years. This book makes the praise, hugs, and finger wagging available at all times.