The Girl with Glass Feet

The ball of her foot was glass too, but murkier, losing its transparency in a gradient until, near her ankle, it reached skin: matt and fleshtoned like any other. And yet... Those few inches of transition astonished him even more than ...

Author: Ali Shaw

Publisher: Atlantic Books Ltd

ISBN: 9781848875487

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 738

DOWNLOAD →

A mysterious metamorphosis has taken hold of Ida MacLaird - she is slowly turning into glass. Fragile and determined to find a cure, she returns to the strange, enchanted island where she believes the transformation began, in search of reclusive Henry Fuwa, the one man who might just be able to help... Instead she meets Midas Crook, and another transformation begins: as Midas helps Ida come to terms with her condition, they fall in love. What they need most is time - and time is slipping away fast.

The Girl with Glass Feet

Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass? The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.

Author: Ali Shaw

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

ISBN: 0805091149

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 858

DOWNLOAD →

An inventive and richly visual novel about young lovers on a quest to find a cure for a magical ailment, perfect for readers of Alice Hoffman Strange things are happening on the remote and snowbound archipelago of St. Hauda’s Land. Unusual winged creatures flit around the icy bogland, albino animals hide themselves in the snow-glazed woods, and Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass. Ida is an outsider in these parts, a mainlander who has visited the islands only once before. Yet during that one fateful visit the glass transformation began to take hold, and now she has returned in search of a cure. Midas Crook is a young loner who has lived on the islands his entire life. When he meets Ida, something about her sad, defiant spirit pierces his emotional defenses. As Midas helps Ida come to terms with her affliction, she gradually unpicks the knots of his heart. Love must be paid in precious hours and, as the glass encroaches, time is slipping away fast. Will they find a way to stave off the spread of the glass? The Girl with Glass Feet is a dazzlingly imaginative and magical first novel, a love story to treasure.

The American Farm and Home Cyclopedia

The second story has two bed rooms , a girl's room , sitting room and hall . ... The front windows in first and second stories are 3 by 8 feet , 2 panes to sash of double strength glass ; double windows in mansard , 2 panes to sash ...

Author: Horace R. Allen

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433007625084

Category: Agriculture

Page: 1114

View: 131

DOWNLOAD →

Kaapse bibliotekaris

... achievement 2009 Andrew Taylor 2010 2011 David Cohen Prize for Literature ( biennial ) 2011 Julian Barnes ( for lifetime's excellence in literature ) Desmond Elliott Prize for a First Novel 2010 Ali Shaw The girl with the glass feet ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCBK:C098776368

Category: Libraries

Page: 352

View: 417

DOWNLOAD →

Issues for Nov. 1957- include section: Accessions. Aanwinste, Sept. 1957-

The Girl s Own Outdoor Book

The fronds rise in circular clumps sometimes two feet in length . colour is a dark green ; their texture is rigid , and their ... This plant thrives well in a glass case , as therein shade and warmth , and a constantly humid atmosphere ...

Author: Charles Peters

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:590779637

Category: Amusements

Page: 522

View: 891

DOWNLOAD →

The Girl in the Black Raincoat

The young man crawled for a time , then climbed to his feet , made his way back around the store , watching for the policeman , not in sight , to the closed front doors again . They were glass with wooden frames , and by leaning sharply ...

Author: George Garrett

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105037329187

Category: American literature

Page: 394

View: 281

DOWNLOAD →

Uncorrected galley proofs, corrected galley proofs and page proofs of the book of short stories and poems edited by Garrett.

Final Solution

The girl took a nervous breath. ... when Ah see a bunch them little mothahs out slidin round on those glass feet lack, an then Ah know. ... Kiley brushed a nervous hand over his scalp and tried to focus only on the girl's eyes.

Author: Richard E. Peck

Publisher: Doubleday

ISBN: 9780307781314

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 442

DOWNLOAD →

For years universities have been restive sounding boards for those who talk of revolution, of a new system, of freedom for every man. This chilling tale begins with a university, and a student riot — only this time the riot becomes a revolution and produces a new epoch in the American Way of Life. Robert Kiley, a member of the faculty, seems to endorse the change as a giant step forward in the educational process. After all, his name appears on the plan that created the change. But his efforts at reform have brought him near death, saved only by a colleague’s experimental research in cryogenics. Awakening years in the future, Kiley finds that he is still on the university campus where, through some strange metamorphosis, he has become the spiritual leader of the people — against his every wish. He can’t understand where he fits, in a new era when everyone speaks in distorted versions of today’s ghetto jargon, everyone (literate or not) has a Ph.D., and the university has become a miniature hell, isolated from the new paradise of America. But the money still comes from Washington and as the new “leader,” Kiley goes to fetch it, a journey across America which reveals just how alien he — or his world — has become. Often hilarious, this devastating first novel shows how easily the best intentions can produce a nightmare.

American Gardening

The men who use hot - bed sashes largely here have not yet learned the advantages of cementing the glass with white lead and oil ... they are generally built 24 feet wide with one slope , and 18 inches perpendicular glass at south side ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015086688556

Category: Gardening

Page: 384

View: 555

DOWNLOAD →

The Glass Room

Summary: "Cool. Balanced. Modern. The precisions of science, the wild variance of lust, the catharsis of confession and the fear of failure - these are things that happen in the Glass Room.

Author: Simon Mawer

Publisher: Little Brown GBR

ISBN: STANFORD:36105131763760

Category: Architects

Page: 424

View: 818

DOWNLOAD →

Summary: "Cool. Balanced. Modern. The precisions of science, the wild variance of lust, the catharsis of confession and the fear of failure - these are things that happen in the Glass Room. High on a Czechoslovak hill, the Landauer House shines as a wonder of steel and glass and onyx built specially for newlyweds Viktor and Liesel Landauer, a Jew married to a gentile. But the radiant honesty of 1930 that the house, with its unique Glass Room, seems to engender quickly tarnishes as the storm clouds of WW2 gather, and eventually the family must flee, accompanied by Viktor's lover and her child. But the house's story is far from over, and as it passes from hand to hand, from Czech to Russian, both the best and the worst of the history of Eastern Europe becomes somehow embodied and perhaps emboldened within the beautiful and austere surfaces and planes so carefully designed, until events become full-circle."--Publisher's website.

The Student s Journal

The following are some of the greatest altitudes reached by railways : The Alpine line rises to - the hight of about 1851 feet ; that of the Black Forest , 2550 feet ; the Sæmmering , 2670 feet ; the Caucasus , 2925 feet ; the Saint ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HXPFGC

Category: Shorthand

Page:

View: 801

DOWNLOAD →