The Confectioner s Tale

Two a.m. Wilf stands outside, tail wagging furtively. He isn't supposed to come upstairs, but we turn a blind eye. Thirsty, I plod down to the kitchen for a glass of water. Wilf follows and settles into his bed.

Author: Laura Madeleine

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781473525818

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 493

DOWNLOAD →

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air. But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins. Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal. 'Delightful and delicious: a must read' Nina George, bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop 'Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read' Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Girl under the Olive Tree Take a moment to savour a bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

The Sweets of Araby Enchanting Recipes from the Tales of the 1001 Arabian Nights

INGREDIENTS 4 eggs, beaten 2⁄3 cup shortening or butter 2 cups plus 2 tablespoonsflour 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons water 13⁄4 cups confectioners' sugar 1 cup ground almonds 2 tablespoons rosewater 2 tablespoons honey Basic qar (sugar ...

Author: Leila Salloum Elias

Publisher: The Countryman Press

ISBN: 9781581571806

Category: Cooking

Page: 128

View: 363

DOWNLOAD →

Pairs recipes for exotic sweets with the original stories they came from, in a celebration of Arabic culture that includes original full-color illustrations.

Tales about England Scotland Ireland and Wales

At night all get round the fire , the brown jug is filled to the very brim , pipes and tobacco are laid on the table , and many a tale is repeated that has been told twenty years ago . Twelfth day is the twelfth day after Christmas day ...

Author: Peter Parley (pseud.)

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:590756991

Category:

Page:

View: 562

DOWNLOAD →

Andersen s Fairy Tales

When the others reached the willows where the confectioners had their tents , they said , “ Now , then , here we are ; the bell doesn't exist , it is only something people imagine ! ' Just then the bell was heard in the wood , with its ...

Author: Hans Christian Andersen

Publisher: Wordsworth Editions

ISBN: 1853261009

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 387

View: 113

DOWNLOAD →

This collection of over forty of Anderson's most popular stories includes "The Ugly Duckling", "The Red Shoes", and "The Little Match Girl."

Helen Whitney s Wedding and Other Tales

The confectioners were rushing in with more dishes , and the dressmakers appearing to put the finishing touches to Helen . Lady Whitney was just off her head : doubtful whether to order all the paraphernalia away , or whether Captain ...

Author: Mrs. Henry Wood

Publisher:

ISBN: CORNELL:31924013573211

Category:

Page: 270

View: 188

DOWNLOAD →

Beelzebub s Tales to His Grandson

“This 'blessing' of contemporary civilization is used chiefly by what are called 'confectioners' and other specialists who prepare for the beings of that planet very 'tasty' articles for their first food. “The confectioners and other ...

Author: G. I. Gurdjieff

Publisher: Rare Treasure Editions

ISBN: 9781774644270

Category: Philosophy

Page:

View: 341

DOWNLOAD →

Beelzebub's Tales to His Grandson is the first volume of the All and Everything trilogy written by the mystic G. I. Gurdjieff. The All and Everything trilogy also includes Meetings with Remarkable Men and Life Is Real Only Then, When 'I Am'. This book was intended to be the main study tool for Gurdjieff's Fourth Way teachings. As Gurdjieff's idea of "work" is central to those teachings, Gurdjieff went to great lengths in order to increase the effort needed to read and understand it.The book covers many topics. Beelzebub's Tales is included in Martin Seymour-Smith's 100 Most Influential Books Ever Written, with the comment that it is "...the most convincing fusion of Eastern and Western thought that has yet been seen."

Beelzebub s Tales to His Grandson

“And that 'blessing' of contemporary civilization is used there chiefly by what are called 'confectioners' and other specialists who prepare for the other beings of that planet most 'tasty' articles for their first food.

Author: G. Gurdjieff

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780141956343

Category: Fiction

Page: 1248

View: 454

DOWNLOAD →

BEELZEBUB'S TALES TO HIS GRANDSON is Gurdjieff's world-famous cosmological epic. It examines human life on Earth from the viewpoint of beings belonging to a distant world, led by the 'all-wise Beelzebub'. Through this cosmological allegory - rich in humour, anecdote and linguistic elaboration - Gurdjieff demonstrates a methodology for the spiritual growth of all mankind.

Tales of the Day

... and the innumerable compliments of my innumerable adorers might have supplied the confectioners , for an ... The homage which attended me began to sound dull as a thrice - told tale ; the buzz of admiration which greeted my ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433112044767

Category: English fiction

Page:

View: 660

DOWNLOAD →

The Ultimate Christmas Collection 400 Holiday Novels Tales Poems Carols Legends Illustrated Edition

A Christmas Carol, Silent Night, The Three Kings, The Gift of the Magi, Little Lord Fauntleroy, Life and Adventures of Santa Claus, The Heavenly Christmas Tree, Little Women, The Tale of Peter Rabbit... Mark Twain, Beatrix Potter, ...

Author: Mark Twain

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: EAN:4057664174123

Category: Fiction

Page: 10534

View: 758

DOWNLOAD →

Musaicum Books presents to you a meticulously edited Christmas Classics collection. This ebook has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Content: The Holy Night (Selma Lagerlöf) The Gift of the Magi (O. Henry) A Merry Christmas & Other Christmas Stories (Louisa May Alcott) A Letter from Santa Claus (Mark Twain) Silent Night The Night After Christmas The Child Born at Bethlehem The Adoration of the Shepherds The Visit of the Wise Men As Joseph Was A-Walking The Tale of Peter Rabbit (Beatrix Potter) Where Love Is, God Is (Leo Tolstoy) The Three Kings (Henry Wadsworth Longfellow) A Christmas Carol (Samuel Taylor Coleridge) Life and Adventures of Santa Claus (L. Frank Baum) Christmas At Sea (Robert Louis Stevenson) The Savior Must Have Been A Docile Gentleman (Emily Dickinson) The Heavenly Christmas Tree (Fyodor Dostoevsky) The Little City of Hope (F. Marion Crawford) The First Christmas Of New England (Harriet Beecher Stowe) Christmas in the Olden Time (Walter Scott) Christmas In India (Rudyard Kipling) A Christmas Carol (Charles Dickens) The Twelve Days of Christmas The Wonderful Wizard of OZ (L. Frank Baum) Ring Out, Wild Bells (Alfred Lord Tennyson) Little Lord Fauntleroy (Frances Hodgson Burnett) Black Beauty (Anna Sewell) The Christmas Child (Hesba Stretton) Granny's Wonderful Chair (Frances Browne) The Romance of a Christmas Card (Kate Douglas Wiggin) Wind in the Willows (Kenneth Grahame) The Wonderful Life - Story of the life and death of our Lord (Hesba Stretton) The Christmas Angel (A. Brown) Christmas at Thompson Hall (Anthony Trollope) Christmas Every Day (William Dean Howells) The Lost Word (Henry van Dyke) The Nutcracker and the Mouse King (E. T. A. Hoffmann) The Little Match Girl The Elves and the Shoemaker Mother Holle The Star Talers Snow-White…

Tales and Fairy Stories

One of the confectioners of the town came and pitched a tent thereabouts ; and then a rival confectioner came and hung a bell over his tent , and a bell that was tarred all over , too , in case of rain - only it had no clapper .

Author: Hans Christian Andersen

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:600069532

Category:

Page:

View: 571

DOWNLOAD →