The Writer on Her Work

Published to high praise--"groundbreaking . . . a landmark" (Poets and Writers)--this was the first anthology to celebrate the diversity of women who write.

Author: Janet Sternburg

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393320553

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 268

View: 428

DOWNLOAD →

Published to high praise--"groundbreaking . . . a landmark" (Poets and Writers)--this was the first anthology to celebrate the diversity of women who write.

The Writer the Reader and the State

This book offers a comprehensive account of the censorship of literature in India since Independence and the recent trends in literature banning The author recalls the literary censorship of books in India, both in English and in regional ...

Author: Mini Chandran

Publisher: SAGE Publishing India

ISBN: 9789386446091

Category: Art

Page: 232

View: 628

DOWNLOAD →

This book offers a comprehensive account of the censorship of literature in India since Independence and the recent trends in literature banning The author recalls the literary censorship of books in India, both in English and in regional languages, and the impact of Emergency on banned books. The book highlights recent trends and current challenges to free literary expression in the country and attempts to locate it in the tradition of Indian literary history. The term ‘censorship’, used in the book, is a rubric that includes various repressive measures, both governmental and non-governmental, in banning a book after publication, withdrawing a book using coercive tactics or suppression of a work on other grounds. It adds a literary perspective to the process of reception of these books by the reader.

Writing and the Writer

Exploring the relationship between the writer and what he/she happens to be writing, this text by one of the foremost scholars in the field of literacy and cognition is a unique and original examination of writing--as a craft and as a ...

Author: Frank Smith

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781136690136

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 304

View: 322

DOWNLOAD →

Exploring the relationship between the writer and what he/she happens to be writing, this text by one of the foremost scholars in the field of literacy and cognition is a unique and original examination of writing--as a craft and as a cognitive activity. The book is concerned with the physical activity of writing, the way the nervous system recruits the muscles to move the pen or manipulate the typewriter. It considers the necessary disciplines of writing, such as knowledge of the conventions of grammar, spelling, and punctuation. In particular, there is a concern with how the skills underlying all these aspects of writing are learned and orchestrated. This second edition includes many new insights from the author's significant experience and from recent research, providing a framework for thinking about the act of writing in both theoretical and practical ways. A completely new chapter on computers and writing is included, as well as more about the role of reading in learning to write, about learning to write at all ages, and about such controversial issues as whether and how genre theory should be taught. Written in nontechnical language, this text will continue to be accessible and stimulating to a wide range of readers concerned with writing, literacy, thinking, and education. Furthermore, it has an educational orientation, therefore proving relevant and useful to anyone who teaches about writing or endeavors to teach writing.

The Writer s Art

A section of the book called "My Crotchets and Your Crotchets" comprises more than 200 personal judgment calls, often controversial, often funny, on word usage.

Author: James J. Kilpatrick

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

ISBN: 9781449405618

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 262

View: 786

DOWNLOAD →

"Writing comes in grades of quality in the fashion of beer and baseball games," says James J. Kilpatrick, "good, better, and best." With the experience of a lifetime of writing, he tells us, he wants to make a few judgment calls. And Jack Kilpatrick, master of the art, is as good as his word. In the tradition of Theodore Bernstein, Edwin Newman, and William Safire, James J. Kilpatrick gives us a finely crafted, witty guide to writing well. Written for laymen and professionals alike, The Writer's Art highlights techniques and examples of good writing. A section of the book called "My Crotchets and Your Crotchets" comprises more than 200 personal judgment calls, often controversial, often funny, on word usage.

Advaita the Writer

A story about the love of books, the power of the imagination, of literary heroes and of the birth of dreams.

Author: Ken Spillman

Publisher: Tulika Books

ISBN: 8181469666

Category: Authors

Page: 45

View: 182

DOWNLOAD →

A story about the love of books, the power of the imagination, of literary heroes and of the birth of dreams.

The Writer s Handbook

Tells how to become a writer; discusses techniques for fiction, nonfiction, poetry and plays; and lists agents, editors, and publishers.

Author: Sylvia K. Burack

Publisher: Writer

ISBN: 0871161877

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 919

View: 323

DOWNLOAD →

Tells how to become a writer; discusses techniques for fiction, nonfiction, poetry and plays; and lists agents, editors, and publishers.

The Return of the Author

This work traces the debate of biographical criticism.

Author: Eugen Simion

Publisher: Northwestern University Press

ISBN: 0810112736

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 220

View: 452

DOWNLOAD →

This work traces the debate of biographical criticism.

The Writer s Diet

This book offers an easy-to-follow set of writing principles.

Author: Helen Sword

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 9780226351988

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 87

View: 424

DOWNLOAD →

This book offers an easy-to-follow set of writing principles. For example, use active verbs whenever possible, favour concrete language over vague abstractions, avoid long strings of prepositional phrases, employ adjectives and adverbs only when they contribute something new to the meaning of a sentence and reduce your dependence on the "waste words": 'it', 'this', 'that' and 'there'. The author also shows these rules in action through examples from famous authors such as Shakespeare and Emily Dickinson. The book includes a test to help you assess your own writing and get advice on problem areas.

Unleash the Writer Within

In this book, Cec helps you: * Answer why you write; * Find the real you; * Understand your inner critic; * Determine your strengths and weaknesses; * Honor, embrace, and grow your voice; * Discover your rhythm; * Overcome your barriers to ...

Author: Cecil Murphey

Publisher: TKA Distribution

ISBN: 9781942356226

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 160

View: 619

DOWNLOAD →

Beloved author Cecil (Cec) Murphey says, “The best kind of writing occurs when it comes from the heart. It’s called being authentic or transparent. Too many writers have an insatiable need to be accepted, liked, or admired, and those needs become more important than being true to their convictions. Be you when you write.” But having the courage to tap into your innermost self and write purely from your spirit doesn’t always come naturally, which is why he wrote Unleash the Writer Within to guide you along the way. In this book, Cec helps you: * Answer why you write; * Find the real you; * Understand your inner critic; * Determine your strengths and weaknesses; * Honor, embrace, and grow your voice; * Discover your rhythm; * Overcome your barriers to honest writing. Unleash the Writer Within is sure to become your most-used and marked-up writing companion. It also serves as an excellent resource for writers’ events, group discussions, and conferences. Note: UNLEASH THE WRITER WITHIN is a previously published work, and is not substantially different from the original edition.

The Writer Who Stayed

"If you value vintage journalism of an old-fashioned vividness and integrity please, please read this book."—Wall Street Journal "Our 'endlessly supple' English language will, Zinsser says, 'do anything you ask it to do, if you treat it ...

Author: William Zinsser

Publisher: Paul Dry Books

ISBN: 9781589882898

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 176

View: 495

DOWNLOAD →

Adapted from "Zinsser on Friday," The American Scholar's National Magazine Award–Winning Essay Series For nineteen months William Zinsser, author of the best-selling On Writing Well and many other books, wrote a weekly column for the website of the American Scholar magazine. This cornucopia was devoted mainly to culture and the arts, the craft of writing, and travels to remote places, along with the movies, American popular song, email, multitasking, baseball, Central Park, Tina Brown, Pauline Kael, Steve Martin, and other complications of modern life. Written with elegance and humor, these pieces are now collected in The Writer Who Stayed. "If you value vintage journalism of an old-fashioned vividness and integrity please, please read this book."—Wall Street Journal "Our 'endlessly supple' English language will, Zinsser says, 'do anything you ask it to do, if you treat it well. Try it and see.' Try him and see craftsmanship."—George F. Will "Zinsser—who, with On Writing Well, taught a whole lot of us how to set down a clean English sentence—last year won a National Magazine Award for his Friday web columns in The American Scholar. They're now in a collection that's completely charming, impeccably polished, and Strunk-and-White-ishly brief. He's the youngest 90-year-old you'll read this week."—New York Magazine

The Writer s Voice

A brilliant book about the art of writing from one of the most popular critics of our time

Author: Al Alvarez

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9780747579311

Category: Authorship

Page: 128

View: 650

DOWNLOAD →

A brilliant book about the art of writing from one of the most popular critics of our time

The Writer s Digest Handbook of Novel Writing

Covers tone, plot, characterization, dialogue, point of view, pacing, research, revision, agents, manuscript submission, book contracts, and copyediting

Author:

Publisher: Writers Digest Books

ISBN: 0898798310

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 260

View: 286

DOWNLOAD →

Covers tone, plot, characterization, dialogue, point of view, pacing, research, revision, agents, manuscript submission, book contracts, and copyediting

Maps of the Imagination

Tracing the history of maps, he then relates what writers do in projecting a literary work from the imagination onto the page.

Author: Peter Turchi

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015059297864

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 245

View: 617

DOWNLOAD →

Drawing on texts as varied as poetry, novels, and cartoons, Turchi explores how writers and cartographers use many of the same devices for plotting and executing their work. Tracing the history of maps, he then relates what writers do in projecting a literary work from the imagination onto the page.

The Writer s Survival Guide

Simon explores the writerly journey with compassion, offering ways to stay productive and successful.

Author: Rachel Simon

Publisher: Story Press Books

ISBN: 1884910238

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 184

View: 213

DOWNLOAD →

In this instructive and insightful celebrati on of the writing life, Simon offers ways to stay productive on a day-to-day basis, advice for navigating the publishing world, and prescriptions for overall creative happiness. '