Smoke In The Lanes

Some little time later, after the women had gone out 'calling' and I was sitting by the fireside on an upturned bucket, smoking and talking to Fangs, a small shootingbrake suddenly drove at speed into the lane, pulling up abruptly ...

Author: Dominic Reeve

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780748128648

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 406

DOWNLOAD →

In the 1950s the Romani people lived on the brink of great change. In their bright wooden wagons they journeyed between horse-fairs and traditional stopping places - stoic, humorous and wild, often poverty-stricken but protective of their freedom - on the fringes of a society that was soon to close around them. Dominic Reeve describes his life among the Gypsies: the feuds and fairs, the joyful muddy squalor of an outdoor existence. He evokes an unforgettable cast of fireside characters - bold children, fierce matriarchs and dandyish villains in snap-brimmed hats - and tells of sharp deals done and rings run round country policemen, of love affairs, dances and open-air feasting. Smoke in the Lanes is the vivid, memorable record of a disappeared world.

Milagro Lane

But the smoke had grown too thick. She couldn't find Rosa. Or the door. Coughing, she held her shoebox tightly and groped blindly through the smoke. Preston “Duke” Grohman found himself alone in the fire that engulfed his grandmother's ...

Author: Jay Brandon

Publisher: Wings Press

ISBN: 9780916727574

Category: Fiction

Page: 262

View: 515

DOWNLOAD →

A tale of murder wrapped in family secrets, potentially incestuous relationships, and a diabolic plot to avenge lost love, this intriguing mystery is set in San Antonio, Texas—a traditional city where races and ethnic groups blend. When Estela Valenzuela appears at the funeral of the patriarch of one of the oldest, richest families in town, she fascinates Jerry Grohman, the son of the deceased. Through Estela, he ventures into parts of the city he never knew, even one part that doesn't exist—Milagro Lane—the street of the mind and of inspiration, where one can only go in rare, fulfilling occasions.

Long Lane With Turnings

For motorists, few of whom enjoyed foglamps worthy of the description, and with dipping systems that often shut off one headlamp while dipping or even swivelling the other to the nearside, the problems of smoke-laden fog could often be ...

Author: L.J.K. Setright

Publisher: Granta Books

ISBN: 9781783780600

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page:

View: 958

DOWNLOAD →

Leonard Setright was one of the twentieth century's most influential, opinionated and idiosyncratic motoring journalists; described as 'more Isaiah Berlin than Jeremy Clarkson', everything he wrote was inspired by his knowledge of and passion for all things automotive. Long Lane with Turnings is a dryly witty memoir of his early years and the author's last book, left unfinished at the time of his death in the summer of 2005. We encounter Setright as a child standing behind his father's driving seat in family Wolseley, enjoining him to 'Go fast!' and taking an early delight in machines of all sorts, from the camera-like precision of the Setright ticket machine for bus conductors (manufactured by his father's firm) to his first bicycle. We also see him developing that independence of mind which so characterized his writing as a critic: readers will savour his pitch-perfect descriptions of many of the cars that he drove, be it the Mini ('a very convincing little brick'), a Renault 4 ('swaying like a sailing dinghy in corners') or his beloved Bristols. The portrait of the writer which emerges from these pages is marvellously detailed, quirky and full of warmth.

Hearst s International Combined with Cosmopolitan

It's just that for the last fifteen minutes I've been smelling smoke . " There was a sharp sound from the doctor . Lane caught his breath . Keyed up as he was , the word " smoke " was as startling as an explosion . He sniffed warily .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015043654394

Category:

Page: 950

View: 601

DOWNLOAD →

Teaching in the Fast Lane

If the learning target today is to examine the dangers of smoking, students might sort facts and fibs about smoking in the opening minutes. Students create two headings—Facts and Fibs—and make decisions about the placement of the strips ...

Author: Suzy Pepper Rollins

Publisher: ASCD

ISBN: 9781416623410

Category: Education

Page: 130

View: 787

DOWNLOAD →

Teaching in the Fast Lane offers teachers a way to increase student engagement: an active classroom. The active classroom is about creating learning experiences differently, so that students engage in exploration of the content and take on a good share of the responsibility for their own learning. It's about students reaching explicit targets in different ways, which can result in increased student effort and a higher quality of work. Author Suzy Pepper Rollins details how to design, manage, and maintain an active classroom that balances autonomy and structure. She offers student-centered, practical strategies on sorting, station teaching, and cooperative learning that will help teachers build on students' intellectual curiosity, self-efficacy, and sense of purpose. Using the strategies in this book, teachers can strategically "let go" in ways that enable students to reach their learning targets, achieve more, be motivated to work, learn to collaborate, and experience a real sense of accomplishment.

War with the Gizmos

Lane blinked. The professor gestured impatiently. He blew a smoke ring. It went slowly across the stifling hot interior of the trailer, expanding as it went. “That,” said the professor, “is a very simple dynamic-system.

Author: Murray Leinster

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781473227125

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 458

DOWNLOAD →

The first battles began in the wilderness. The animals in the forests and glades struggled furiously for life and often fought with splendid courage. But they never won; they were always killed. And now it was man's turn...

The Stake

Smoking in bed? Lane wondered. 'The Board of Education met last night . . .' She turned off the radio. She felt cold and numb inside. ... 'Holy smoke!' She hurled her book bag into the rear, and dropped onto the seat. The car shook.

Author: Richard Laymon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755391844

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 660

DOWNLOAD →

An innocent woman... or a vampire? The Stake is a spine-chilling tale of horror by Richard Laymon, perfect for fans of Stephen King and Clive Barker. 'Laymon uses a typewriter ribbon soaked in cold blood' - Burt Hirschfeld In an abandoned hotel in a Californian ghost town, horror writer Larry Dunbar and his friends make a chilling discovery. By chance they stumble on a coffin hidden under the stairs. Within lies the corpse of a naked female - with a stake through its heart. Was she the innocent victim of a gruesome murder? Or was she a vampire? There's only one way for Larry to solve the mystery - he must pull out the stake... What readers are saying about The Stake: 'A totally brilliant and vibrant read, the storyline was always nail biting' 'The characters are richly developed, and the story is a real page turner; so much so you end up hoping you never reach the end' 'Richard Laymon is the king of horror'

The Warren Report

smoke or steam” coming from the knoll area. When Miller was later questioned by commission counsel, Lane writes, Miller was “dismissed before he could mention the crucial observation contained in his affidavit.

Author: The Associated Press

Publisher: Diversion Books

ISBN: 9781682305607

Category: History

Page: 1219

View: 956

DOWNLOAD →

This updated edition of The Warren Report, compiled by The Associated Press, is the definitive guide to the U.S. government’s investigation of President John F. Kennedy’s assassination. The AP first published the findings of the Warren Commission to help the general public understand the details of the report, which was both comprehensive and complex. Now, read this updated account with its fascinating conclusions for an inside look at Lee Harvey Oswald’s attack on the president and its devastating repercussions. Featuring photos from the AP archive and a special report, “The Lingering Shadow,” which first appeared in The Dallas Times Herald in 1967 to address Warren Report critics, this book is a must-read for lovers of American history and those curious about a singular event that changed the course of a country.

Kentucky Administrative Regulations Service

Fire doors or smoke barriers may be maintained in an open position if an approved automatic - closing device ... access roads , and fire lanes so that buildings and water supplies on the premises are at all times accessible to fire ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951D010725879

Category: Delegated legislation

Page:

View: 342

DOWNLOAD →

State and Local Programs on Smoking and Health

AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY , CONNECTICUT DIVISION , INC . , Barnes Park South , 14 Village Lane , P.O. Box 410 ... Description : In three independent units , this modular teaching kit relates smoking prevention and personal health issues ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:30000106037298

Category: Cigarette smokers

Page: 162

View: 710

DOWNLOAD →