Queen of the Negro Leagues

The draft makes it clear that while baseball should recognize that “the Negro fan and the Negro player are part and parcel of the game,” the enormous growth in black attendance for International League games in which Jackie Robinson had ...

Author: James Overmyer

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

ISBN: 9781538139851

Category: African American business enterprises

Page: 288

View: 736

DOWNLOAD →

Rev. ed. of: Effa Manley and the Newark Eagles. 1993, and of later edition: Queen of the Negro leagues, 1998.

Baseball s Leading Lady

Effa Manley and the Rise and Fall of the Negro Leagues Andrea Williams ... Eagles' Opening Day, 1935: Luke, Most Famous Woman in Baseball, 13; Overmyer, Queen of the Negro Leagues, 34–35; “Grays Put Damper on Eagles' Opener,” Pittsburgh ...

Author: Andrea Williams

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

ISBN: 9781250623737

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 256

View: 737

DOWNLOAD →

For fans of Hidden Figures and Steve Sheinkin's Undefeated, Andrea Williams's Baseball's Leading Lady is the powerful true story of Effa Manley, the first and only woman inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame. Before Jackie Robinson broke Major League Baseball's color barrier in 1947, Black athletes played in the Negro Leagues--on teams coached by Black managers, cheered on by Black fans, and often run by Black owners. Here is the riveting true story of the woman at the center of the Black baseball world: Effa Manley, co-owner and business manager of the Newark Eagles. Elegant yet gutsy, she cultivated a powerhouse team. Yet just as her Eagles reached their pinnacle, so did calls to integrate baseball, a move that would all but extinguish the Negro Leagues. On and off the field, Effa hated to lose. She had devoted her life to Black empowerment--but in the battle for Black baseball, was the game rigged against her?

Black Ball A Negro Leagues Journal Vol 5 No 1 Spring 2012

In Queen of the Negro Leagues, for instance, Jim Overmyer quotes a 1939 letter from Abe Manley to Willie Riddick, an associate in the Tidewater region of Virginia, in which Manley instructs Riddick to “get me a player” from the Norfolk ...

Author: Leslie A. Heaphy

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476622002

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 108

View: 481

DOWNLOAD →

BACK ISSUE Under the guidance of Leslie Heaphy and an editorial board of leading historians, this peer-reviewed, annual book series offers new, authoritative research on all subjects related to black baseball, including the Negro major and minor leagues, teams, and players; pre–Negro League organization and play; barnstorming; segregation and integration; class, gender, and ethnicity; the business of black baseball; and the arts. Prior to Volume 9, Black Ball was published as Black Ball: A Negro Leagues Journal. This is a back issue of that journal.

The Negro Leagues 1869 1960

Philadelphia Inquirer, 26 August 1947; Queen City Heritage, 14; Pittsburgh Courier, 15 June 1946, 17, 15 March 1952, ... Records compiled by Merl Kleinknecht for SABR Negro Leagues Committee, 3 February 1991; Pittsburgh Courier, ...

Author: Leslie A. Heaphy

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476603056

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 383

View: 380

DOWNLOAD →

At his induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame, former Negro League player Buck Leonard said, “Now, we in the Negro Leagues felt like we were contributing something to baseball, too, when we were playing.... We loved the game.... But we thought that we should have and could have made the major leagues.” The Negro Leagues had some of the best talent in baseball but from their earliest days the players were segregated from those leagues that received all the recognition. This history of the Negro Leagues begins with the second half of the 19th century and the early attempts by African American players to be allowed to play with white teammates, and progresses through the “Gentleman’s Agreement” in the 1890s which kept baseball segregated. The establishment of the first successful Negro League in 1920 is covered and various aspects of the game for the players discussed (lodgings, travel accommodations, families, difficulties because of race, off-season jobs, play and life in Latin America). In 1960, the Birmingham Black Barons went out of business and took the Negro Leagues with them. There are many stories of individual players, owners, umpires, and others involved with the Negro Leagues in the U.S. and Latin America, along with photos, appendices, notes, bibliography and index.

The Negro Leagues Chronology

Queen of the Negro Leagues: E›a Manley and the Newark Eagles. Lanham, Md.: The Scarecrow Press, ¡998. Paige, LeRoy Satchel, as told to David Lipman. Maybe I'll Pitch Forever. Lincoln, Neb.: Bison Books, ¡993. Peterson, Robert.

Author: Christopher Hauser

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476608488

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 216

View: 424

DOWNLOAD →

Painstakingly researched and documented, this volume is a comprehensive, year-by-year reference work giving important—yet often obscure—dates in Negro League history. From the Negro Leagues’ organized beginning in 1920 through their steep decline immediately after Jackie Robinson’s 1947 breaking of the color barrier, entries cover league meetings, noteworthy games, the commentary of columnists, and important events on and off the field. Controversies that defined the experience of black baseball organizers—such as player rights disputes, failure to adhere to league schedules and violations of league rules—are also included here.

The Negro Leagues in New Jersey

Effa Manley was known as the “First Lady of Black Baseball” and the “Queen of the Negro Leagues.” She was an innovative and knowledgeable co- owner of the Brooklyn Eagles, a team that later became known as the Newark Eagles.

Author: Alfred M. Martin

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9780786451920

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 280

View: 383

DOWNLOAD →

This work examines the historical significance of the state of New Jersey in the Negro League legacy, especially the black baseball players, teams, owners and managers, and their struggles against not just segregation, and their accomplishments. The book includes photographs, appendices (records of New Jersey Negro League teams, 1923–1948, and a chronology), notes, a bibliography of research sources, an annotated list of suggested further readings, and an index.

Black Ball A Negro Leagues Journal

BeforeJackie: The Negro Leagues, Civil Rightsand the American Dream, by Mary E. Corey and Mark Harnischfeger REVIEWED BY ... by Donald Spivey REVIEWED BY JAMES E. BRUNSONIII Queen of the Negro Leagues: Effa Manley and the Newark Eagles, ...

Author: Leslie A. Heaphy

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476617473

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 172

View: 562

DOWNLOAD →

BACK ISSUE Under the guidance of Leslie Heaphy and an editorial board of leading historians, this peer-reviewed, annual book series offers new, authoritative research on all subjects related to black baseball, including the Negro major and minor leagues, teams, and players; pre–Negro League organization and play; barnstorming; segregation and integration; class, gender, and ethnicity; the business of black baseball; and the arts. Prior to Volume 9, Black Ball was published as Black Ball: A Negro Leagues Journal. This is a back issue of that journal.

Black Ball A Negro Leagues Journal Vol 5 No 2 Fall 2012

Clark, William E. “Will Ed Bolden Have to Scrap the Hilldales to Save Eastern League? ... Dial, Lewis E. “Homestead Grays Withdraw from League; Bolden Elected New President at N. Y. Meeting. ... Queen of the Negro Leagues.

Author: Leslie A. Heaphy

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476621999

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 116

View: 983

DOWNLOAD →

BACK ISSUE Under the guidance of Leslie Heaphy and an editorial board of leading historians, this peer-reviewed, annual book series offers new, authoritative research on all subjects related to black baseball, including the Negro major and minor leagues, teams, and players; pre–Negro League organization and play; barnstorming; segregation and integration; class, gender, and ethnicity; the business of black baseball; and the arts. Prior to Volume 9, Black Ball was published as Black Ball: A Negro Leagues Journal. This is a back issue of that journal.

Negro League Baseball

Rogosin, “Queen of the Negro Leagues,” 18 (“I didn't"); Irvin with Riley, Nice Guy's Finish First, 44; PC, June 1, 15 (“Paige is my”), 29, 1940; Effa Manley to Tom Wilson and B. B. [sic] Martin, ...

Author: Neil Lanctot

Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

ISBN: 9780812202564

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 512

View: 671

DOWNLOAD →

The story of black professional baseball provides a remarkable perspective on several major themes in modern African American history: the initial black response to segregation, the subsequent struggle to establish successful separate enterprises, and the later movement toward integration. Baseball functioned as a critical component in the separate economy catering to black consumers in the urban centers of the North and South. While most black businesses struggled to survive from year to year, professional baseball teams and leagues operated for decades, representing a major achievement in black enterprise and institution building. Negro League Baseball: The Rise and Ruin of a Black Institution presents the extraordinary history of a great African American achievement, from its lowest ebb during the Depression, through its golden age and World War II, until its gradual disappearance during the early years of the civil rights era. Faced with only a limited amount of correspondence and documents, Lanctot consulted virtually every sports page of every black newspaper located in a league city. He then conducted interviews with former players and scrutinized existing financial, court, and federal records. Through his efforts, Lanctot has painstakingly reconstructed the institutional history of black professional baseball, locating the players, teams, owners, and fans in the wider context of the league's administration. In addition, he provides valuable insight into the changing attitudes of African Americans toward the need for separate institutions.

The Negro Southern League

Willie's Boys: The 1948 Birmingham Black Barons, the Last Negro League World Series, and the Making of a Baseball Legend. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2009. ... Queen of the Negro Leagues: Effa Manley and the Newark Eagles.

Author: William J. Plott

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476617398

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 276

View: 311

DOWNLOAD →

The Negro Southern League was a baseball minor league that operated off and on from 1920 to 1951. It served as a valuable feeder system to the Negro National League and the Negro American League. A number of NNL and NAL stars got their start in the NSL, among them five Hall of Famers including Satchel Paige and Willie Mays. During its history, more than 80 teams were members of the league, representing 40 cities in a dozen states. In the end only four teams remained, operating more as semipro than professional teams. This book is a narrative history of the league from its inception with eight teams in major Southern cities until its demise three decades later.