Playing the Changes

Valerian plays the kindly master with Sydney and Ondine , humoring what he sees as their idiosyncracies and assuring ... having given up books because the language in them had changed so much - stained with rivulets of disorder and ...

Author: Craig Hansen Werner

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 0252066413

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 372

View: 606

DOWNLOAD →

A final sequence highlights the centrality of black music to African American writing, arguing that recognizing blues, gospel, and jazz as theoretically suggestive cultural practices rather than specific musical forms points to what is most distinctive in twentieth-century African American writing: its ability to subvert attempts to limit its engagement with psychological, historical, political, or aesthetic realities.

Playing the Changes on the Jazz Metaphor

There are plenty of double-time passages and cliff-hanging demonstrations that prove it's quite likely that he is still the greatest trumpet player alive (p. 77). Thus, bandleader Cab Calloway reports that “knowing that horn, ...

Author: Morris B. Holbrook

Publisher: Now Publishers Inc

ISBN: 9781601981721

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 278

View: 101

DOWNLOAD →

Playing the Changes on the Jazz Metaphor proposes an expanded view of the jazz metaphor in a broadened perspective that embraces a wide range of possibilities in organizational, management, and marketing-related themes. This monograph presents a new Typology of Jazz Musicians based on different kinds of artistic offerings. This typology will combine three key distinctions or dimensions to construct a twelve-fold classification that - when extended to the sphere of organizational behavior and business strategy as a Typology of Management and Marketing Styles - will shed light on different ways in which the jazz metaphor relates to organizational design, business practice, management skills, and marketing opportunities. In order to describe these typologies, the author examines important aspects of a first-level jazz metaphor as it relates to organizational issues involved in shaping the jazz improvisation into a form of collective collaboration. This is followed by attention to a second-level linguistic metaphor based on viewing jazz as a kind of language at the foundation for a collaborative conversation.

Playing Changes

In this definitive guide to the jazz of our time, leading critic Nate Chinen boldly expands on that idea, taking us through the key changes, concepts, events, and people that have shaped jazz since the turn of the century—from Wayne ...

Author: Nate Chinen

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 9781101873496

Category: Music

Page: 290

View: 576

DOWNLOAD →

One of the Best Books of the Year: NPR, GQ, Billboard, JazzTimes In jazz parlance, “playing changes” refers to an improviser’s resourceful path through a chord progression. In this definitive guide to the jazz of our time, leading critic Nate Chinen boldly expands on that idea, taking us through the key changes, concepts, events, and people that have shaped jazz since the turn of the century—from Wayne Shorter and Henry Threadgill to Kamasi Washington and Esperanza Spalding; from the phrase “America’s classical music” to an explosion of new ideas and approaches; from claims of jazz’s demise to the living, breathing scene that exerts influence on mass culture, hip-hop, and R&B. Grounded in authority and brimming with style, packed with essential album lists and listening recommendations, Playing Changes takes the measure of this exhilarating moment—and the shimmering possibilities to come.

Not Playing by the Rules 21 Female Athletes Who Changed Sports

They called tradar ball and Nancy Lieberman could beat every boy she played against She could beat then in the daylight hours too-in baseball. softball, and even football. After Nancy's parents divorced her non Renee moved her and her ...

Author: Lesa Cline-Ransome

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9781524764555

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 50

View: 879

DOWNLOAD →

This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls! Before girls wore pants or women were permitted to swim in bathing suits at public beaches, who paved the way for women in sports? And who's breaking new ground today? This anthology introduces 21 trailblazing women who have broken through the boundaries set for female athletes. From basketball slam-dunker Lisa Leslie to tennis superstars Venus and Serena Williams, whose father had onlookers jeer at and taunt the girls as they practiced, to Paralympian Tatyana McFadden, who was a speed demon even at her Russian orphanage before she was adopted, to Olympic gold medalist Ethelda Bleibtrey, who was led off to jail when she shed her shoes and stockings to swim in public, Not Playing by the Rules inspires, informs, and illustrates the strength, determination, and accomplishments of women athletes both yesterday and today. With powerful photographs and hand-lettered, inspirational quotes from the athletes themselves, this is a collection every young girl should own. The featured athletes include Ethelda Bleibtrey, Bobbi Gibb, Althea Gibson, Gabby Douglas, Flo Hyman, Lisa Leslie, Mia Hamm, Tatyana McFadden, Mo'ne Davis, Ibtihaj Muhammad, Diana Golden, Constance Applebee, Lizzie Arlington, Babe Didrikson, Alice Coachman, Joy Johnson, Nancy Lieberman, Nadia Comăneci, Venus and Serena Williams, and Yusra Mardini.

Improvisation and Composition in Balinese Gend r Wayang

... small changes are made without thinking: Me: About the changes that are made by you without thinking, while playing, as well as what you make on purpose ... L: It is on purpose truly, not while playing. After we've played, we think.

Author: Nicholas Gray

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781351928304

Category: Music

Page: 294

View: 239

DOWNLOAD →

This book is an examination of the music of the Balinese gendér wayang, the quartet of metallophones - gendér - that accompanies the Balinese shadow puppet play - wayang kulit. The book focuses on processes of musical variation, the main means of creating new music in this genre, and the implications of these processes for the social and historical study of Balinese music, musical aesthetics, concepts of creativity and compositional methods. Dr Nick Gray tackles a number of core ethnomusicological concerns in a new way, including the relationship between composition and improvisation, and also highlights issues specific to Balinese music, including the importance of flexibility in performance, an aspect that has been largely ignored by scholars. Gray thus breaks new ground both in the study of issues relating to improvisation and composition and in Balinese music studies.

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls 100 Immigrant Women Who Changed the World

there was a girl who spent her childhood playing with dollhouses, moving the plastic people around like actors on a stage. ... But her life changed when Young Jean moved to California for college. For the first time, she was surrounded ...

Author: Elena Favilli

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781734264173

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 224

View: 788

DOWNLOAD →

A 2021 NATIONAL PARENTING PRODUCT AWARDS WINNER! The third installment in the New York Times bestselling Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls series, featuring 100 immigrant women who have shaped, and will continue to shape, our world. Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Immigrant Women Who Changed the World is the third book in the New York Times bestselling series for children. Packed with 100 all-new bedtime stories about the lives of incredible female figures from the past and the present, this volume recognizes women who left their birth countries for a multitude of reasons: some for new opportunities, some out of necessity. Readers will whip up a plate with Asma Khan, strategize global affairs alongside Madeleine Albright, venture into business with Rihanna, and many more. All of these unique, yet relatable stories are accompanied by gorgeous, full-page, full-color portraits, illustrated by female artists from all over the globe.

The Concise Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Long before the Ming dynasty (1368– 1644), Chinese pipa players stopped using a plectrum to sound the strings, ... In solo playing, changes in tone color, tempo, and dynamics are used to convey sonic images of scenes from nature or ...

Author: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781136095948

Category: Music

Page: 651

View: 158

DOWNLOAD →

The Concise Garland Encyclopedia of World Music comprises two volumes, and can only be purchased as the two-volume set.To purchase the set please go to:http://www.routledge.com/9780415972932.

Tengguidetothechineseorchestra the

The Húqín group changes to play a slurred countermelody. • The Shēng group changes its rhythm to minims, instead of playing the marching rhythm. This combination creates the richest harmony, with both sustained lines and punctuated ...

Author: Wang Chenwei

Publisher: World Scientific

ISBN: 9789813233669

Category: Music

Page: 624

View: 935

DOWNLOAD →

The TENG Guide to the Chinese Orchestra is a seminal guide to equip composers, scholars and music enthusiasts worldwide with the necessary knowledge to work with Chinese musical instruments. The INSTRUMENTATION section outlines the history, physical attributes and performance techniques of Chinese musical instruments in detail. It also includes practical scoring advice for composers and reference charts for fingerings and chords. The ORCHESTRATION section contains systematic analyses of score excerpts from Chinese orchestra pieces spanning the last 60 years to demonstrate how Chinese musical instruments work together in an orchestra.

The Physical Educator

Girls play on first and second bases . The 9. ... Require dress suitable to the activity and show- ability of the players . ... these rules changes were necessary . competition when both boys and girls are playing .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105020623372

Category: Physical education and training

Page:

View: 876

DOWNLOAD →

Windplayer

Over the past two decades , Coleman has built a parallel career as a master teacher , coaching players on all instruments , from jazz novices to seasoned pros . ... plunge into jazz , came to Coleman for advice on playing changes .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015031160750

Category: Wind instruments

Page: 364

View: 493

DOWNLOAD →