Jimbo

On the other side of the bridge, the trail split into two branches. The right branch paralleled Roaring Brook back toward the old bridge site, the waterfall at the gorge, and the Killer 60. The Killer 60 was a sixty-foot-high stone ...

Author: Joe Cawley

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781450237581

Category: Fiction

Page: 188

View: 596

DOWNLOAD →

The fractured Huey fell out of the sky like a greased brick. The untold outcome was unfolding all too fast. Bad shit, boys! Was all he said. No one heard him. They were busy taking their last breath of air and they knew it. There was no time for hope. The Huey had been caught in the dead mans curve. The craft was too low and too slow and all the lift was gone too fast for any type of emergency recovery. They went down hard and fast smashing nose down into the trees. Everything plastic cracked and shattered immediately. The tree branches loudly and unmercifully whipped and peeled at the sides as the resulting self generated wind from the fall blasted in through the open side doors. The rotors joined in by contributing a lot of damage to the hull and the crew. The spinning rotors turned themselves and the trees to splintering shrapnel. The trees did little to break the fall after the initial contact and the Huey plunged to the ground and practically self-disintegrated. The crew and passenger were instantly killed. That fast, they were gone. Some were still in the skeleton of their craft and others tossed out haphazardly. Their body organs crushed as they absorbed the impact of being tossed first against the trees and then the unforgiving ground.

Getting it Right the First Time

The idea of a killer application is such a simple , straightforward concept but many companies fail to link their ... the idea following the " trail " of a killer application greatly simplifies the task of trying to predict the future .

Author: John Katsaros

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 0275984796

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 188

View: 141

DOWNLOAD →

Business management.

Killer s Doom A Walt Slade Western

“The brush land begins less than a mile ahead, and in this light we can see the back trail for more than a mile from the edge of the growth.” They continued on their way, reaching the point where the open prairie ended and was replaced ...

Author: Bradford Scott

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 9781479429011

Category: Fiction

Page: 128

View: 243

DOWNLOAD →

The terse command cracked through Texas Ranger headquarters like a rifle shot -- and no one had to be told that the most dangerous assignment ever handed out was custom-made for the coolest lawman of them all, Walt Slade! For a hot, bloody week Slade haunted the trail of the vicious outlaw whose senseless cruelties shocked El Paso. One by one he whittled down Juan Covelo’s gang of killers, but always the black-hooded leader escaped his blazing irons. Now Slade knew that he was up against an outlaw every bit as fiendish and elusive as his arch-enemy Veck Sosna. When the Ranger ace fingered his guns and stepped into Coveto’s hillside hideout he was grimly prepared for a deadly duel in the dark that meant either his own death or a killer’s doom!

Killer s Ink

She lit the joint, and seconds later the harsh-sweet odor of the marijuana was drifting over the trail. “The colors. It makes them so real, you know.” “Maybe we'd better be heading back,” he said. “They'll miss us.” “Miss us?

Author: Malcolm Shuman

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN: 9781497663282

Category: Fiction

Page: 235

View: 843

DOWNLOAD →

His career in shambles, a newspaperman looks for a new start in rural Louisiana Pete Brady is in a bar on Magazine Street, halfway through his third Manhattan, when he gets a message from the New Orleans underworld. In response to Pete’s recent investigation into drug trafficking, they have sent him a message: slitting his favorite source’s throat, ear to ear. Even a Pulitzer Prize can’t get that image out of Pete’s head, and so he bolts, moving to desolate Troy, Louisiana, where he buys a failing newspaper and tries to turn it into a force for good. But death is not through with Pete Brady. While tidying the graves in the local churchyard, a group of society ladies discover the body of Frieda Troy MacBride, gossip columnist, whose acid tongue has finally gotten her killed. As he struggles to keep his little paper from going under, Brady must unmask this small-town slayer before every writer on staff meets the same fate.

Attack of the Killer Komodos

As he sets off on the trail ahead of me, I remember the conspiracy documentary Nate told me about. The one with park rangers keeping secrets from their family and friends. Secrets so big nobody would believe them without proof.

Author: Summer Rachel Short

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781534468702

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 948

DOWNLOAD →

Perfect for fans of Stranger Things and The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl, this “thrilling, fast-paced” (School Library Journal) second book in the Maggie and Nate Mystery series follows the friends to Yellowstone National Park where they must track down a deadly creature amidst a series of natural disasters. Having rescued her town from zombifying mutant mushrooms, eleven-year-old Magnolia Stone is ready for her next adventure! Maggie and her best friend, Nate, head to Yellowstone National Park to visit Maggie’s park ranger dad. But when the kids bump into a rogue Komodo dragon, a dangerous predator that shouldn’t even be in the park, and a major earthquake leaves Maggie and Nate stranded, they set off to figure out what’s going on and to reunite Maggie’s family once again. While Maggie comes up with scientific solutions as they battle earthquakes, landslides, wolves, and other unusual creatures, Nate focuses on conspiracy theories and getting stellar footage for his YouTube channel. But only by combining their skills will they have any hope of saving Yellowstone or each other.

Killer s Gold

A professional killer like that will leave a real cold trail if you give him more than a day or two head start.” “Oh yeah, well what if you pitch off your horse and really break your neck this time?” “That can't happen.

Author: J.R. Roberts

Publisher: Speaking Volumes

ISBN: 9781612324999

Category: Fiction

Page: 175

View: 977

DOWNLOAD →

Summary of Kerri Rawson s A Serial Killer s Daughter

Near the top of the trail, worn, paved cobblestones remained. #6 I was trying to find a balance between watching my foot placement on the narrow, rocky trail and remembering to look out at the overwhelmingly stunning, stark surroundings ...

Author: Everest Media,

Publisher: Everest Media LLC

ISBN: 9798822531987

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 29

View: 819

DOWNLOAD →

Please note: This is a companion version & not the original book. Sample Book Insights: #1 I was sure the man in the car was now on the other side of the door, which only had a simple lock on it. I was afraid to open it for fear of being robbed or murdered. I called my husband and told him about the man at the door, but he said not to worry about it. #2 The man from the FBI came to my apartment to talk about my dad, who was wanted as BTK. I was scared, but I tried to stay calm and asked him questions. #3 My father, Dennis, was the last of four brothers to meet my mother, Paula, at Christ Lutheran Church in 1966. They had one night together, then returned to their respective realities of World War II and the Pacific. #4 My parents, Tom and Nancy, got married in 1970. Dad lived with his parents for a few months, went to Butler Community College, and worked part-time at Leeker’s. Mom lived with her parents and worked as a secretary at the Veterans Administration.

On the Trail of Jack the Ripper

They were dealing with a new type of killer, the first of his kind, the world's first modern serial killer. The police were simply not equipped to hunt him down. They closed the investigation down after four years, (although the last ...

Author: Richard Charles Cobb

Publisher: Pen and Sword History

ISBN: 9781526794819

Category: True Crime

Page: 151

View: 388

DOWNLOAD →

For 132 years the ghastly and horrific murders committed in London's East End by the infamous 'Jack the Ripper' have gripped and baffled the world. The Ripper commenced his series of atrocities at the end of August and continued freely until the beginning of November 1888 when inexplicably the murders stopped In all, five women were brutally murdered and savagely mutilated in the most unimaginable way. The killing spree centered in and around the impoverished rabbit warren of alleys and rookeries of Whitechapel. The invisible killer was never caught despite the very best intentions of the police and thousands of would be detectives following the grim proceedings. Since those dark days of murders committed by gaslight, the mystery of Jack the Ripper has become the ultimate cold case among crime historians and arm chair researchers worldwide, with a multitude of books, plays and dramas all hoping to solve what London's finest Victorian detectives failed to do Given the space of time much has changed and the crime scene locations and landscape in which the Ripper and his victims would known would be in many parts unrecognizable to them. Equally to the modern day Londoner or visitor the locations would be very much largely unknown until now. True Crime and Social historians, Richard C Cobb and Mark Davis, return to the Whitechapel of 1888 to see what remains from this dark time in London's history and to take the reader on a step-by-step tour of the modern world of Jack the Ripper, giving a detailed history of the victims, the crimes and the police investigation. We also look at other victims (outside the accepted five ) which may have been killed by the same man. Using the original police reports, state of the art photographs, unseen images and diagrams, they present the truth about what actually happened in the autumn of 1888 and what remains of Jack the Ripper's London today. They also focus on the ever changing face of London's End End, giving the reader a real sense of how the past meets the present in arguably London's most vibrant and cultural quarter where the shadow of the Ripper is never too far away.

In a Killer s Sights

heart beat in rhythm with Midnight's thundering hooves as they raced up the trail to Rattlesnake Creek. Behind him he could hear the hoofbeats of the horses his ranch hands Luke and Jed rode. He was thankful they'd just come back from ...

Author: Sandra Robbins

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 9781488008542

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 950

DOWNLOAD →

WITNESS IN JEOPARDY When Gwen Harwell witnesses someone dumping a body into a Tennessee river, she knows she's the killer's new target. Far from home on a work assignment, she isn't sure where to turn—especially when her ex-husband appears. Five years ago, Dean Harwell's burdens from his police work tore their marriage apart. But now he says he's changed. He's working as a rancher; he's put his problems behind him. And he's committed to keeping her safe until the killer is caught. With their troubled past, trusting him with her life is hard enough. Can she trust him with the truth about the child he doesn't know they have? Smoky Mountain Secrets: Love and danger collide in the Southern wilderness