Mind the Gaffe

Exasperated by marking exam scripts, the author checked some 2500 of the most common errors his students made. The result is this guide which points the reader to pitfalls in English and how to avoid them, written with wit and panache.

Author: Robert Lawrence Trask

Publisher: Penguin Group

ISBN: STANFORD:36105060993040

Category: English language

Page: 301

View: 171

DOWNLOAD →

Exasperated by marking exam scripts, the author checked some 2500 of the most common errors his students made. The result is this guide which points the reader to pitfalls in English and how to avoid them, written with wit and panache. Correct usage, spelling and grammar are all covered.

Mind the Gaffe

Mind. the. Gaffe. Larry Trask was born in western New York State in 1944. In
1970 he came to England and in 1983 he obtained his Ph.D. from the University
of London. He taught at the University of Liverpool from 1979 to 1988; since then
he ...

Author: R L Trask

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780141941363

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 320

View: 904

DOWNLOAD →

Can anything be described as 'very real'? There are so many obstacles on the way to writing clear, precise ('accurate'?) English ('english'?) that it is a wonder ('wander'?) anyone ('any one' or 'anyone'?) can be understood. Fortunately, all those who have ever feared being shown up by using one of the twenty worst words and phrases to be avoided at all costs, or confusing the complex with the complicated, can now relax and even enjoy a trouble-shooting guide to good writing. Trask's wonderfully readable and authoritative book adjudicates on hundreds of contentious issues from politically correct language to whether to write 'napkin' or 'serviette'.

Mind The Gaffe

Exasperated By The Poor Quality Of Written English He Encounters Every Day, Larry Trask Has Set Himself The Task Of Listing And Then Analysing The Most Common Slips And Gaffes Perpetrated By Students, Teachers, Journalists And Other ...

Author: R L Trask

Publisher:

ISBN: 0143027999

Category:

Page: 304

View: 817

DOWNLOAD →

English May Be The Most Widely Spoken Of All Languages; It Is Also One Of The Most Misused. Exasperated By The Poor Quality Of Written English He Encounters Every Day, Larry Trask Has Set Himself The Task Of Listing And Then Analysing The Most Common Slips And Gaffes Perpetrated By Students, Teachers, Journalists And Other Professionals Whose Business Is Theoretically, At Least Words. With Wit And Panache He Inveighs Against Sloppy Thinking, Poor Grammar, Clumsy Style And A Host Of Other Language Sins. His Book Will Prove Essential And Salutory Reading For Anyone Who Ever Puts Pen To Paper Or Finger To Word Processor.

Mind the Gaffe

A lighthearted style guide in the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves shares offbeat, biting rules for standard written English, including such examples as, "An amoral person is one who does not know the difference between right and wrong.

Author: Robert Lawrence Trask

Publisher:

ISBN: 1435285565

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 289

View: 566

DOWNLOAD →

A lighthearted style guide in the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves shares offbeat, biting rules for standard written English, including such examples as, "An amoral person is one who does not know the difference between right and wrong. An immoral person knows the difference but does wrong anyway." Original.

Structure Style and Usage

But the verbs which admit the double passive are so few that it is best to avoid the
construction . This structure can get to be hopelessly muddled . His orders were
attempted to be carried out ( R . L . Trask , Mind the Gaffe , Penguin , 2001 ) .

Author: K. S. Yadurajan

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: UVA:X030154662

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 235

View: 426

DOWNLOAD →

This volume, a companion to the author's earlier book Current English, comprehensively covers points of structure, style, and usage in the English language. An invaluable guide, it explains issues of grammar that baffle the non-native speaker and pose problems even for native speakers, in a witty and accessible manner.

The Bulletin

English is stricken by sloppiness ( R.L. Trask's Mind the Gaffe , Penguin ; James
Cochrane's Between You and I , Icon ; John Humphrys ' Lost For Words , Hodder
& Stoughton ) , slipperiness ( Julian Burnside's Wordwatching , Scribe ) , the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCSC:32106017512390

Category: Sydney (N.S.W.)

Page:

View: 585

DOWNLOAD →

Opinion Writing

... Oxford University Press , 1994 . Trask , RL , Mind the Gaffe — The Penguin
Guide to Common Errors in English , Penguin Books , 2002 . APPENDIX B
EXERCISES Exercise 1 Consider these ten qualities of 176 Improving your
writing skills.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105064090439

Category: Judicial opinions

Page:

View: 970

DOWNLOAD →

The Ukrainian Quarterly

Regarding the gaffe , Ford ' s aides then chimed in " that because of Ford ' s
strong support for the Captive Nations Proclamation the mistake wouldn ' t have a
major effect ... Political in 4 as mind the Preovelieve in that it disenchanted
sufficient.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015027588170

Category: Ukraine

Page:

View: 369

DOWNLOAD →

A Gentle Touch

... happy to suggest that any fortunate result of the event may be what God had
had in mind ( the thunderstorm forced Millicent and Cynthia to cooperate , the
breakdown meant that deaf Fred did not hear the minister ' s appalling gaffe , the
sore ...

Author: David Arthur Pailin

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015025255400

Category: Disabilities

Page: 196

View: 170

DOWNLOAD →

Crapshoot

The gaffe watch never slept, but it couldn't, not with Quayle saying the things he
did. The most quoted Quayleism of the season was his twist on the United Negro
College Fund slogan that "A mind is a terrible thing to waste." Speaking for the ...

Author: Jules Witcover

Publisher: Crown Pub

ISBN: 0517584808

Category: Vice-Presidential candidates

Page: 450

View: 456

DOWNLOAD →

An examination of the American vice presidency discusses past vice presidents, the selection process for vice-presidential candidates, and suggestions for improving the selection process

The Case of the Corner Cottage

... up had been with her in mind . The first time she'd spent the night in his flat he'd
sent down for a breakfast which was intended for two , but maybe he'd noticed
the waiter's suspicions or had realised the gaffe about the handbag , or else he'd
 ...

Author: Christopher Bush

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105026498118

Category:

Page: 240

View: 273

DOWNLOAD →

Time

We give our horses lots of drugs John Wayne using “ a crack of the whip ” on the
gaffe to keep them healthy , fit and pain ... 19 ] brought to mind the saw a face and
when they saw a place For 24/7 service , please use our website : support that ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105123023389

Category:

Page:

View: 147

DOWNLOAD →

Mind Gaffe

This book reflects the key areas where gaffes tend to be made, and after each section there's a light-hearted quiz to check how your cultural antennae are/growing in sensitivity.

Author: Barry Tomalin

Publisher:

ISBN: 1854186396

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 150

View: 863

DOWNLOAD →

How to avoid giving gratuitous offense, insulting people with the best of intentions? This book reflects the key areas where gaffes tend to be made, and after each section there's a light-hearted quiz to check how your cultural antennae are/growing in sensitivity.

Lighting Design Application

... however , has rebound from each other in the same way that the north knocked
down a whole wall in my mind . ... The improved lighting system " Ignore " before
hearing the original gaffe , even though reduces lighting energy costs by 30 ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112048822214

Category: Electric lighting

Page:

View: 377

DOWNLOAD →

Argumentation and Advocacy

... put Dukakis on the spot results in the tendency of editorials to go was
admittedly one of " dubious taste " “ gaffe hunting . ... critiques that even though
editorials simultaneously rethe absence of misstatements is itself mind readers
that content ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951P00305658E

Category: Forensics (Public speaking)

Page:

View: 875

DOWNLOAD →

Roland Penrose Lee Miller

HINNAL A whole new set of factors had come into the equation since Penrose
bought the Gaffé collection in 1937 . Early in 1938 he and ... This was obviously
in Penrose ' s mind as he agreed to purchase Eluard ' s collection . But he was ...

Author: Sir Roland Penrose

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015054252070

Category: Art

Page: 176

View: 592

DOWNLOAD →

This book offers an unprecedented insight into one of the most fascinating artistic relationships of the 20th century.

Why Do Languages Change

Packed with fascinating examples, this entertaining book explores changes in the English language over time.

Author: Larry Trask

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521838023

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 198

View: 312

DOWNLOAD →

Packed with fascinating examples, this entertaining book explores changes in the English language over time.

Penguin Writers Guides How to Write Effective Emails

This practical guide steers you through all the basics and 'netiquette' of emailing strangers, business contacts and colleagues: from setting up an email account, presentation and formatting of your emails to how to avoid offensive blunders ...

Author: R. L. Trask

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780141936697

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 224

View: 498

DOWNLOAD →

The Penguin Writers' Guides series provides authoritative, succinct and easy-to-follow guidance on specific aspects of written English. Whether you need to brush up your skills or get to grips with something for the first time, these invaluable Guides will help you find the best way to get your message across clearly and effectively. Many of us are spending more and more time using emails, especially at work. This practical guide steers you through all the basics and 'netiquette' of emailing strangers, business contacts and colleagues: from setting up an email account, presentation and formatting of your emails to how to avoid offensive blunders and the legal issues surrounding this kind of writing. It offers indispensable guidance for simple and direct writing - including cultural differences, appropriate language and common pitfalls - so that your emails give the best possible impression.

House of Commons Debates Official Report

... closing the gaps now cannot stand the gaffe of international competition . in
employment and income in that nation . ... geographic area and the have in mind
the movement of goods and people from 1990 on , compactness of the product ...

Author: Canada. Parliament. House of Commons

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435063966568

Category: Canada

Page:

View: 267

DOWNLOAD →

Hitler s Games

... archapostle of friendship with Germany, to make the gaffe of the evening. ...
Next day, when the team flew home from Croydon, the German manager said
they did not mind losing, for the English were still the acknowledged masters of
the ...

Author: Duff Hart-Davis

Publisher: Olympic Marketing Corporation

ISBN: STANFORD:36105018828645

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 256

View: 562

DOWNLOAD →

A detailed, illustrated account of the 1936 Berlin Olympic Games ranges from the early planning from 1933 on to all key events of the games themselves, and covers the political and ideological factors involved