The Encyclopedia of Magic and Alchemy

Most people who attempt magic today, with skills based on bad books or silly films, also do not end with the desired results. But their conclusion is not that they did something wrong. Rather, they conclude that magic does not work.

Author: Rosemary Guiley

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN: 9781438130002

Category: Alchemy

Page: 370

View: 284

DOWNLOAD →

A comprehensive illustrated reference guide with more than 400 entries on the subjects of magic and alchemy.

Magic s Most Wanted

“I'll let you know what additional charges you're facing for today's little stunt,” he said. “You won't have a lawyer, but you'll be able to ... “One teacher and twenty-eight students witnessed the use of a magical boon today,” he said.

Author: Tyler Whitesides

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062568397

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 205

DOWNLOAD →

Magic is closer than you ever thought possible in this madcap middle grade adventure perfect for fans of James Riley and Chris Grabenstein. For Mason Mortimer Morrison, life isn’t so magical. His dad was just sent to jail, his grades have been plummeting from meh to yikes, and, oh yeah, two officers from some organization called Magix just showed up to arrest him in the middle of fourth period. Talk about bad luck. Mason knows he’s innocent. But in order to clear his name, he’s going to need the help of a plucky Magix junior detective and a cantankerous talking bunny—and a little bit of magic.

Picking Up Attributes From Today

"Captain Hudders, where can I learn magic?" "At the magic academies, of course!" Captain Hudders patted Meng Lei's shoulder and said, "There's one right in the kingdom's capital. It's the start of August now, so it'll soon be the magic ...

Author: Panda Reunion

Publisher: Cloudary Holdings Limited (Webnovel)

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Nonfiction

Page: 160

View: 428

DOWNLOAD →

[Webnovel provides the latest update of Picking Up Attributes From Today novels] In Heaven's Vault Continent, Colossal Dragons, Titans, Beast People, Fairies, Magical Beasts, and other races reign supreme! Humans are treated like slaves and lowlifes, while Dragon People act all high and mighty and consider themselves nobility! However, a new addition will rock the boat and overturn the status quo! His name is Meng Lei, and he is a human from Earth that transmigrated to become a... villager! Or so he thought, as he had yet to unlock The Most Powerful Pickup System! "Ding! Dropped item discovered. Will you pick it up?" Be it money, items, spells, vitality, spiritual power... The Most Powerful Pickup System will pick them all! ... "Should I train to become a Magician or a Warrior? Why not try both!?

Magic

Despite its ' magical orientation Conjure has maintained a strong relationship to its sacred origins . ... The principal evidence of magic is still today drawn largely from anthropological studies of non - Western cultures , and earlier ...

Author: Jamie Sutcliffe

Publisher: MIT Press

ISBN: 9780262543033

Category: Art

Page: 240

View: 225

DOWNLOAD →

The first accessible reader on magic’s generative relationship with contemporary art practice. From the hexing of presidents to a renewed interest in herbalism and atavistic forms of self-care, magic has furnished the contemporary imagination with mysterious and often disorienting bodies of arcane thought and practice. This volume brings together writings by artists, magicians, historians, and theorists that illuminate the vibrant correspondences animating contemporary art’s varied encounters with magical culture, inspiring a reconsideration of the relationship between the symbolic and the pragmatic. Dispensing with simple narratives of reenchantment, Magic illustrates the intricate ways in which we have to some extent always been captivated by the allure of the numinous. It demonstrates how magical culture’s tendencies toward secrecy, occlusion, and encryption might provide contemporary artists with strategies of remedial communality, a renewed faith in the invocational power of personal testimony, and a poetics of practice that could boldly question our political circumstances, from the crisis of climate collapse to the strictures of socially sanctioned techniques of medical and psychiatric care. Tracing its various emergences through the shadows of modernity, the circuitries of ritual media, and declarations of psychic self-defence, Magic deciphers the evolution of a “magical-critical” thinking that productively complicates, contradicts and expands the boundaries of our increasingly weird present.

Performing Magic on the Western Stage

Robert-Houdin laid the foundations of today's magic through his creativity, his modernity, his conception of performance and staging, and with his pioneering tricks and routines. Such statements, characteristic of these commemorations, ...

Author: L. Hass

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9780230617124

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 240

View: 124

DOWNLOAD →

Performing Magic on the Western Stage examines magic as a performing art and as a meaningful social practice, linking magic to cultural arenas such as religion, finance, gender, and nationality and profiling magicians from Robert-Houdin to Pen& Teller.

Light Magic for Dark Times

The use of nature and intuition and intention (a.k.a. magic) is part of the incredible and enduring lifeblood and fabric of humanity. Today's practitioners are simply finding adaptations to the ancient Egyptians' use of amulets or the ...

Author: Lisa Marie Basile

Publisher: Fair Winds Press

ISBN: 9781631595875

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 179

View: 302

DOWNLOAD →

When the world around you turns dark, tap into the light. If you’re having a hard time finding that light, facing trauma and division, or want to send healing vibes to a friend, the inspired, easy-to-do spells of Light Magic for Dark Times can assist. Luna Luna magazine’s Lisa Marie Basile shares inspired spells, rituals, and practices, including: A new moon ritual for attracting a lover A spell to banish recurring nightmares A graveyard meditation for engaging with death A mermaid ritual for going with the flow A zodiac practice for tapping into celestial mojo A rose-quartz elixir for finding self-love A spell to recharge after a protest or social justice work These 100 spells are ideal for those inexperienced with self-care rituals, as well as experienced witches. They can be cast during a crisis or to help prevent one, to protect loved ones, to welcome new beginnings, to heal from grief, or to find strength. Whether you’re working with the earth, performing a cleanse with water or smoke, healing with tinctures or crystals, meditating through grief, brewing, enchanting, or communing with your coven, Light Magic for Dark Times will help you tap into your inner witch in times of need.

Welsh Witchcraft

There is a great strength and power to be had in honouring their magical endeavours and explorations, in understanding all that we owe them for aiding in expanding the conversation on magic today. Witches, conjurers, cunning folk, ...

Author: Mhara Starling

Publisher: Llewellyn Worldwide

ISBN: 9780738771052

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 272

View: 469

DOWNLOAD →

The history of magic and witchcraft in Wales will inspire any modern-day witch. Written by a Welsh practitioner, this book shares the magical traditions of the land of the red dragon, exploring deities, fairies, folklore, charms, plants, and magic with dozens of exercises for hands-on practice. Explore the history and terminology of Welsh magic and methods for honoring the land. Learn to connect with Cerridwen, Rhiannon, and other deities as well as fairies and mystical creatures. Discover how you can incorporate traditional Welsh folk magic into your modern witchcraft practice, with exercises for honoring those who came before, connecting with the spirit of your home, protecting against adversity and malignant spirits, changing the weather, and much more.

Trithemius and Magical Theology

Today we see that the name of magic is detested and made hateful to almost all men,” Joachim was alerted, “so that, as if under the sway of a single judgment, they condemn all who pursue it in their studies and believe that its very ...

Author: Noel L. Brann

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780791497395

Category: Religion

Page: 354

View: 515

DOWNLOAD →

An examination of Trithemius's "magical theology," which argued for the compatibility of magic and Christian doctrines, and its influence during the Renaissance and Reformation.

A Journey To Magic World

Today is a great day. I feel good and I know that today is the day we are going to find the magical ice-cream fountain!” “Hi Tom,” shouted Lilly, when she reached the big green tree. “Hi Lilly , what's the big secret?” asked Tom.

Author: Charise Katz

Publisher: Archway Publishing

ISBN: 9781452524962

Category: Fiction

Page: 24

View: 305

DOWNLOAD →

P>Welcome to Magic World, a place where dreams come true. This book takes place in the same world you and I live in. In fact, Lilly and Tom are not much older than you. From the ordinary world to the magical world, you are the lucky one to come on this magical journey with me. So switch off your mind and open your heart, and let the magic inside. This book will transport you into an incredible magical and happy place that you can keep visiting whenever you wish. Have fun going on a magical adventure with Lilly and Tom, leading them to places never seen before, following their own imagination where magical ice-cream fountains are waiting to be explored.

Heart of Malice

I know Alice would prefer that we at least find out today what kind of magic you have and how strong you are, but really it's up to you. If you want to do that today, and then decide later whether or not to bind the magic permanently, ...

Author: Lisa Edmonds

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781944728359

Category: Fiction

Page: 445

View: 888

DOWNLOAD →

The first time Moses Murphy’s granddaughter killed on his orders, she was six years old. For twenty years, she was a prisoner of an organized crime syndicate, forced to use her magic to make Moses the most powerful and feared man on the East Coast. To escape his cruelty, she faked her own death and started a new life as Alice Worth. As a private investigator specializing in cases involving the supernatural, Alice walks a precarious line between atoning for the sins of her grandfather’s cabal and keeping her true identity hidden. Hired to investigate the disappearance of a mysterious object of power, Alice enlists the help of Malcolm, a ghost running from a past as nightmarish as her own. It soon becomes clear the missing object was taken by someone with a dangerous secret and an unknown agenda. When her client is kidnapped, Alice must find her and the object of power before a vengeful killer destroys the city and slaughters thousands—starting with Alice.