Historic Shipwrecks of Penobscot Bay

Historic shipwrecks of Penobscot Bay / Harry Gratwick. pages cm Includes bibliographical references. print edition ISBN 978-1-62619-091-7 1. Shipwrecks--Maine--Penobscot Bay--History. 2. Penobscot Bay (Me.)--History. I. Title. F27.

Author: Harry Gratwick

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 9781625845443

Category: History

Page: 168

View: 962

DOWNLOAD →

An in-depth history of the Maine inlet’s most historic and dramatic shipwrecks. Thousands flock to the beautiful coastline along Penobscot Bay every year, but the dark sea has often turned treacherous. Temperamental skies become stormy without notice; violent gales challenge even the most seasoned captains. Craggy rocks can be virtually invisible to oncoming vessels, like the Alice E. Clark, which simply strayed off course in good weather. Other ships, like the Governor Bodwell and Royal Tar, were destroyed by fire. But not all the ships were a total loss—some were repaired and resumed life under different names. Local author Harry Gratwick explores some of Penobscot Bay’s most historic and dramatic shipwrecks, from what caused the wrecks to what happened during those fateful moments when the ships were going down.

The Wreck of the Portland

Historic Shipwrecks of Penobscot Bay. Charleston, SC: History Press, 2014. Hall, Thomas. Shipwrecks of Massachusetts Bay. Charleston, SC: History Press, 2012. Handbook of New England. Boston: P.E. Sargent, 1921. Harper's Magazine, vol.

Author: J. North Conway

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9781493039791

Category: History

Page: 224

View: 199

DOWNLOAD →

The SS Portland was a solid and luxurious ship, and its loss in 1898 in a violent storm with some 200 people aboard was later remembered as “New England’s Titanic.” The Portland was one of New England's largest and most luxurious paddle steamers, and after nine years' solid performance, she had earned a reputation as a safe and dependable vessel. In November 1898, a perfect storm formed off the New England coast. Conditions would produce a blizzard with 100 miles per hour winds and 60-foot waves that pummeled the coast. At the time there was no radio communication between ships and shore, no sonar to navigate by, and no vastly sophisticated weather forecasting capacity. The luxurious SS Portland, a sidewheel steamer furnished with chandeliers, red velvet carpets and fine china, was carrying more than 200 passengers from Boston to Portland, Maine, over Thanksgiving weekend when it ran headlong into a monstrous, violent gale off Cade Cod. It was never seen again. All passengers and crew were lost at sea. More than half the crew on board were African Americans from Portland. Their deaths decimated the Maine African American community. Before the storm abated it became one of the worst ever recorded in New England waters. The storm, now known as “The Portland Gale,” killed 400 people along the coast and sent more than 200 ships to the bottom, including the doomed Portland. To this day it is not known exactly how many passengers were aboard or even who many of them were. The only passenger list was aboard the vessel. As a result of this tragedy, ships would thereafter leave a passenger manifest ashore. The disaster has been blamed on the hubris of the captain of the Portland, Hollis Blanchard, who decided to leave the safety of Boston Harbor despite knowing that a severe storm was hurtling up the coast. Blanchard, a long-time mariner, had been passed over for a promotion for a younger captain. He decided he wanted to show the steamship company that they had made a mistake by getting the Portland safely into port ahead of the imminent storm. Author J. North Conway has created here a personal, visceral account of the sinking and the times and the people involved, with stories to bring readers onto the Portland that day: Here is Eben Heuston, the chief steward onboard the ill-fated ship. More than half of the crew of the ship were African Americans. Hueston was an African American who lived in the Portland community of Munjoy Hill and was a member of the Abyssinian Church. After the sinking of the Portland the African American community disappeared and the church closed. And Emily Cobb a nineteen year old singer from Portland’s First Parish Church who was scheduled to give her first recital at the church on that Sunday. And Hope Thomas who came to Boston to shop for Christmas and because she decided to exchange some shoes she purchased missed taking the ill-fated Portland. Because of the lack of communications from Maine to Cape Cod, it was days before anyone was able to get word about the fate of the ship or survivors. Author J. North Conway has painstakingly recreated the events, using first-hand sources and testimonies to weave a dramatic, can’t-put-it down narrative in the tradition of Erik Larson’s Isaac’s Storm and Walter Lord’s enduring classic, A Night to Remember. He brings the tragedy to life with contemporaneous accounts the Coast Guard, from Boston newspapers such as the Globe, Herald, and Journal, and from The New York Times and the Brooklyn DailyEagle.

The New England Mariner Tradition

In Penobscot Bay, he was attacked by an armed crew of Frenchmen, and on his return to Boston, recruited his own crew, determined on revenge. He made quite an impression over the coming years, attacking French and then English vessels ...

Author: Robert A. Geake

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 9781625847041

Category: History

Page: 144

View: 750

DOWNLOAD →

For over three centuries, New Englanders have set sail in search of fortune and adventure--yet death lurked on every voyage in the form of storms, privateers, disease and human error. In hope of being spared by the sea, superstitious mariners practiced cautionary rituals. During the winter of 1779, the crew aboard the "Family Trader" offered up gin to appease the squalling storms of Neptune. In the 1800s, after nearly fifty shipwrecks on Georges Bank between Cape Cod, Massachusetts, and Nova Scotia, a wizard paced the coast of Marblehead, shouting orders out to sea to guide passing ships to safety. As early as 1705, courageous settlers erected watch houses and lighted beacons at Beavertail Point outside Jamestown, Rhode Island, to aid mariners caught in the swells of Narragansett Bay. Join Robert A. Geake as he explores the forgotten traditions among New England mariners and their lives on land and sea.

Historic Shipwrecks

Work War specifically resulted in two exemplary on the Sacramento River wrecks in 1987 projects , the first being the excavation of documented the partially intact remains of the privateer Defense in Penobscot Bay , LaGrange , an 1833 ...

Author: Joy Waldron Murphy

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:35007001771827

Category: Historic sites

Page: 59

View: 486

DOWNLOAD →

History of Castine Penobscot and Brooksville Maine

History , 153-169 . or Naval Officers , 17-21 , 29 , 31 , 32 , 34-44 , 225-227 . ... Penobscot Bay , 13 , 14 , 36 , 55 , 56 , 61 . Expedition , 328 . Municipal History of 64-72 . ... Shipwrecks , 98-99 . Sidewalks , INDEX . 399.

Author: George Augustus Wheeler

Publisher: Bangor, Me. : Burr & Robinson

ISBN: UOMDLP:afj7228:0001.001

Category: Acadia

Page: 434

View: 557

DOWNLOAD →

A History of New England

He was drowned during the Revolutionary war by the shipwreck of the vessel in which he had taken passage for Nova ... Looking down the eastern channel of the Penobscot Bay a long and fine sea - view is had , while all the towns and ...

Author: R. H. Howard

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HNE72Z

Category: New England

Page: 426

View: 201

DOWNLOAD →

Storms and Shipwrecks of New England

THE WANDBY According to William P. Quinn's book Shipwrecks Around Maine, the master of the Wandby mistook the ... Charles McLane wrote in his book Islands of the Mid-Maine Coast: Penobscot Bay that the owners' log cabin had doors from a ...

Author: Edward Rowe Snow

Publisher: Applewood Books

ISBN: 9781933212210

Category: History

Page: 338

View: 157

DOWNLOAD →

A classic by Edward Rowe Snow, first published in 1943 and updated in 1944 and again in 1946, Storms and Shipwrecks of New England relates what William P. Quinn calls ""stories of stormy adventure."" Jeremy D'Entremont has provided annotations to Snow's chapters, covering the pirate ship Whidah, the wreck of the City of Columbus, the Portland Gale, the 1938 hurricane, and more, bringing the information about the storms and shipwrecks up to date.

Maine Historical Society Newsletter

Earle G. Shettleworth Jr. , " Businessmen restoring old landmarks , " PEE , August 25 . ... Peter D. Bachelder , Maine Shipwrecks series , PEE : " Penobscot Bay disaster ; 32 persons , many animals died in fire of 400 - Ton Steamship ...

Author: Maine Historical Society

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89066454323

Category: Maine

Page:

View: 784

DOWNLOAD →

The History of Underwater Exploration

... of the U.S. brig Defense , a 16 - gun vessel lost in Penobscot Bay , Maine during a battle with the British in 1779. ... archeologists in exploring two other Revolutionary War shipwrecks , the British frigates Cerberus and Orpheus .

Author: Robert F. Marx

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486264874

Category: Travel

Page: 244

View: 793

DOWNLOAD →

The noted marine archaeologist and treasure-hunting diver's history of diving, from the free divers of the ancient world to those using modern research equipment. Subjects such as underwater archaeology, sunken treasure, oceanography and skin diving are explored along with the evolution of SCUBA equipment, submarine warfare, and more. 46 photographs.

Historical Dictionary of New England

In Maine, the Portland Head Light was completed in 1791, and Winslow Lewis (1770–1850), a Massachusetts sea captain, ... most scenic locations, the iconic lighthouse on Isle au Haut in Maine's Penobscot Bay now operates as a unique inn.

Author: Peter C. Holloran

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9781538102190

Category: History

Page: 660

View: 910

DOWNLOAD →

This second edition of Historical Dictionary of New England contains a chronology, an introduction, appendix, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, places, institutions, and events.