Five Red Herrings

Clouds of Witness Unnatural Death The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club Lord Peter Views the Body Strong Poison Five Red Herrings The Documents in the Case (with Robert Eustace) Have His Carcase Hangman's Holiday Murder Must Advertise ...

Author: Dorothy L Sayers

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781848943711

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 911

DOWNLOAD →

The seventh book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by writer and crime reviewer Barry Forshaw - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries. 'D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers' Daily Telegraph Lord Peter Wimsey bent down over General Fentiman and drew the Morning Post gently away from the gnarled old hands. Then, with a quick jerk, he lifted the quiet figure. It came up all of a piece, stiff as a wooden doll . . . But how did the general die? Who was the mysterious Mr X who fled when he was wanted for questioning? And which of the general's heirs, both members of the Bellona Club, is lying? 'She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.' P. D. James

The Five Red Herrings

Dorothy L. Sayers. DOROTHY L. SAYERS 65 THE FIVE RED HERRINGS Dorothy L. Sayers The Five Red Herrings EAN 8596547195504 DigiCat,. Front Cover.

Author: Dorothy L. Sayers

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547195504

Category: Fiction

Page: 326

View: 847

DOWNLOAD →

DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "The Five Red Herrings" by Dorothy L. Sayers. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.

The Five Red Herrings

The supposedly accidental death of a painter who was disliked in a Scottish village sends a concerned villager in search of the truth

Author: Dorothy Leigh Sayers

Publisher: G K Hall & Company

ISBN: 0816130442

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 337

DOWNLOAD →

The supposedly accidental death of a painter who was disliked in a Scottish village sends a concerned villager in search of the truth

The Five Red Herrings

The supposedly accidental death of a painter who was universally disliked in a Scottish village prompts Lord Peter Wimsey to search for a murderer

Author: Dorothy L. Sayers

Publisher: Macmillan Reference USA

ISBN: 081615225X

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 679

DOWNLOAD →

The supposedly accidental death of a painter who was universally disliked in a Scottish village prompts Lord Peter Wimsey to search for a murderer

Five Red Herrings

Faced with six men, all of whom have a motive for murder, the aristocratic amateur sleuth must deduce which are the five red herrings and which has blood on his hands.

Author: Dorothy Leigh Sayers

Publisher: New English Library

ISBN: 0450054853

Category:

Page: 342

View: 774

DOWNLOAD →

The elegant, intelligent amateur sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey is one of detective literature's most popular creations. Ian Carmichael is the personification of Dorothy L. Sayers' charming investigator in this BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatization. When Sandy Campbell's body is found at the foot of a cliff near the small town of Kircdubright, the local constabulary are convinced that the argumentative painter is a victim of a tragic accident. But when Lord Peter Wimsey turns up, the hunt begins for an ingenious killer. Faced with six men, all of whom have a motive for murder, the aristocratic amateur sleuth must deduce which are the five red herrings and which has blood on his hands.

The Structure of Literary Understanding

... there is no objection so long as one does not ask of the text conceived as a fiction that it should fulfil the requirements which apply to the same text conceived as history . In Dorothy Sayers ' Five Red Herrings there is a map ...

Author: Stein Haugom Olsen

Publisher: CUP Archive

ISBN: 0521316316

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 248

View: 733

DOWNLOAD →

This is a paperback edition of what has become an important contribution to aesthetics and the theory of literature.

The Five Red Herrings Volume 1

We are delighted to publish this classic book as part of our extensive Classic Library collection. Many of the books in our collection have been out of print for decades, and therefore have not been accessible to the general public.

Author: Dorothy L. Sayers

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 1721019669

Category:

Page: 396

View: 883

DOWNLOAD →

The Five Red Herrings Volume 1 By Dorothy L. Sayers During a painting retreat, a killer takes a creative approach to the ancient art of murder. The majestic landscape of the Scottish coast has attracted artists and fishermen for centuries. In the idyllic village of Kirkcudbright, every resident and visitor has two things in common: They either fish or paint (or do both), and they all hate Sandy Campbell. Though a fair painter, he is a rotten human being, and cannot enter a pub without raising the blood pressure of everybody there. No one weeps when he dies. Campbell's body is found at the bottom of a steep hill, and his easel stands at the top, suggesting that he took a tumble while painting. But something about the death doesn't sit right with gentleman sleuth Lord Peter Wimsey. No one in Kirkcudbright liked Campbell, and six hated him enough to become suspects. Five are innocent, and the other is the perpetrator of one of the most ingenious murders Lord Peter has ever encountered. We are delighted to publish this classic book as part of our extensive Classic Library collection. Many of the books in our collection have been out of print for decades, and therefore have not been accessible to the general public. The aim of our publishing program is to facilitate rapid access to this vast reservoir of literature, and our view is that this is a significant literary work, which deserves to be brought back into print after many decades. The contents of the vast majority of titles in the Classic Library have been scanned from the original works. To ensure a high quality product, each title has been meticulously hand curated by our staff. Our philosophy has been guided by a desire to provide the reader with a book that is as close as possible to ownership of the original work. We hope that you will enjoy this wonderful classic work, and that for you it becomes an enriching experience.