Five Ages of Canada

In this book Graham tells the story of Canada in terms of five distinct and progressive eras — his Five Ages — to Confederation coast-to-coast. Five Ages of Canada tells the comprehensive tale of the nation's origins and formation.

Author: Graham Gibbs

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 9781460283110

Category: History

Page: 324

View: 621


Five Ages of Canada tells the comprehensive tale of the nation's origins and formation. Graham's First Age introduces Canada's First Inhabitants: the Palaeo-Indians from Northern Asia, their descendants, and the First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples of today. The Second Age began in the early 1500s with fishing fleets from England, France, Portugal and the Basque region of Spain who spent their summers fishing offshore Newfoundland. One hundred years later permanent British settlements were established in our Atlantic Province. Samuel de Champlain's efforts to create New France and the battle for dominion between England and France, constitutes Graham's Third Age, and his Fourth Age covers the fur trade that was responsible for the exploration, mapping and eventual settlement of the west. Lastly, the Fifth Age - which Graham calls "The Road to Confederation" - is the story of Sir John A. Macdonald, George-Étienne Cartier and the other Fathers of Confederation. It is also the story of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, legendary Métis leader Louis Riel and much more. Having long been passionate about the country's history, Graham and his wife Jay travelled 40,000 km in a Roadtrek camper van, visiting over two hundred historic and heritage sites and countless museums, throughout Canada. Graham's book draws on journal notes, conversations with locals, and research. Vast in its scope yet personal in its perspective, Five of Ages of Canada illuminates the country's past in a riveting and original way, garnering deep appreciation and admiration for the people who were here first, and those who strove to achieve independent nationhood....

The Five Ages of the Universe

Stars with masses much larger than our Sun burn themselves out within a relatively brief span of a few million years, a lifetime one thousand times shorter than the present age of the universe. At the other end of the range, ...

Author: Fred C. Adams

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439118689

Category: Science

Page: 288

View: 760


As the twentieth century closed, Fred Adams and Greg Laughlin captured the attention of the world by identifying the five ages of time. In The Five Ages of the Universe, Adams and Laughlin demonstrate that we can now understand the complete life story of the cosmos from beginning to end. Adams and Laughlin have been hailed as the creators of the definitive long-term projection of the evolution of the universe. Their achievement is awesome in its scale and profound in its scientific breadth. But The Five Ages of the Universe is more than a handbook of the physical processes that guided our past and will shape our future; it is a truly epic story. Without leaving earth, here is a fantastic voyage to the physics of eternity. It is the only biography of the universe you will ever need.

The Age of Caesar Five Roman Lives

This was the plebeian aedileship, established in the early fifth century, two “building wardens” who, in addition to attending to the upkeep of shrines, came to have wide authority over the markets, streets, and grain supply of Rome.

Author: Plutarch

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393292831

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 579


“Plutarch regularly shows that great leaders transcend their own purely material interests and petty, personal vanities. Noble ideals actually do matter, in government as in life.” —Michael Dirda, Washington Post Pompey, Caesar, Cicero, Brutus, Antony: the names still resonate across thousands of years. Major figures in the civil wars that brutally ended the Roman republic, their lives pose a question that haunts us still: how to safeguard a republic from the flaws of its leaders. This reader’s edition of Plutarch delivers a fresh translation of notable clarity, explanatory notes, and ample historical context in the Preface and Introduction.

VOICES Teen Age Diary Past Part Five

I came into the Benson Grammar school in the middle of the fifth grade. I had been in a private Catholic boarding school in Tucson before we moved to Benson. Our school is so small that you start Band and Chorus here in the fifth grade.

Author: Judy Lee


ISBN: 9780359913800



View: 926


The Very Age A comedy in five acts and in prose

( he lies down . ) Good night , every body ! Pleasant dreams : but look out for breakers to - morrow ! END OF ACT FOURTH . ACT FIFTH . SCENE I. Erskine's Drawing - room . 126 [ ACT IV . THE AGE ! VERY.

Author: Edward Sherman GOULD (the Elder.)


ISBN: BL:A0018125933



View: 190


Crown of Dragons Age of the Sorcerers Book Five

It wasn't until the fifth try that she felt confident about how secure the rope was, and even then she took her time about securing her end. Erin started out across the rope, using her spear as a balancing pole, stepping lightly as she ...

Author: Morgan Rice

Publisher: Morgan Rice

ISBN: 9781094371436

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 250

View: 807


“Has all the ingredients for an instant success: plots, counterplots, mystery, valiant knights, and blossoming relationships replete with broken hearts, deception and betrayal. It will keep you entertained for hours, and will satisfy all ages. Recommended for the permanent library of all fantasy readers.” --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re The Sorcerer’s Ring) “The beginnings of something remarkable are there.” --San Francisco Book Review (re A Quest of Heroes) From #1 bestseller Morgan Rice, author of A Quest of Heroes (over 1,300 five star reviews) comes a startlingly new fantasy series. CROWN OF DRAGONS is book #5 in bestselling author Morgan Rice’s new epic fantasy series, Age of the Sorcerers, which begins with book #1 (THRONE OF DRAGONS), a #1 bestseller with dozens of five-star reviews—and a free download! In CROWN OF DRAGONS (Age of the Sorcerers—Book Five), Ravin has finally taken complete control of the capital, crushing all those in his way and subjecting its citizens to slavery and brutality. Yet not everyone is under Ravin’s thumb: Lenore, finally jolted out of her despondent state by the death of her mother, realizes it is time to step into her destiny. Instead of allowing herself to become Ravin’s plaything, she must, she realizes, summon an army to defeat him. But can she? Devin, meanwhile, is getting closer to completing the unfinished sword and being able to return to the capital in time to help save it. Will he? But will none of it matter if Nerra rises up, and if her dragons destroy them all? AGE OF THE SORCERERS weaves an epic sage of love, of passion, of sibling rivalry; of rogues and hidden treasure; of monks and warriors; of honor and glory, and of betrayal, fate and destiny. It is a tale you will not put down until the early hours, one that will transport you to another world and have you fall in in love with characters you will never forget. It appeals to all ages and genders. Book #6--DUSK OF DRAGONS--is also available! “A spirited fantasy ….Only the beginning of what promises to be an epic young adult series.” --Midwest Book Review (re A Quest of Heroes) “Action-packed …. Rice's writing is solid and the premise intriguing.” --Publishers Weekly (re A Quest of Heroes)