Cast Off

As tensions rise on the ship, with pirates attacking, deadly illness, and even mutiny, Petra and Bram face impossible decisions that test their friendship and threaten their dreams of freedom.Told in alternating voices, this richly ...

Author: Eve Yohalem

Publisher:

ISBN: 1543008518

Category:

Page: 244

View: 972

DOWNLOAD →

It's 1663 and there is an extra passenger on board a Dutch merchant ship setting sail for the East Indies. Twelve-year-old Petra has stowed away to escape her abusive father. But she quickly realizes that surviving for months at sea will be impossible without help. So when Bram, the half-Dutch / half-Javanese son of the ship's carpenter finds her hiding spot, Petra convinces him to help her stay hidden . . . and help disguise her as a boy.If Petra is discovered and exposed as a girl, she could be tossed overboard, or worse . . . returned to her father. And if Bram is exposed for helping her, he could lose the only home-and family-he has. As tensions rise on the ship, with pirates attacking, deadly illness, and even mutiny, Petra and Bram face impossible decisions that test their friendship and threaten their dreams of freedom.Told in alternating voices, this richly researched novel is filled with secrets, intrigue, and incredible adventure.

Cast Off

Cast off : the strange adventures of Petra De Winter and Bram Broen / Eve Yohalem. pages cm Summary: Told in their separate voices, twelveyearolds Petra, who escaped her abusive father's Amsterdam house in 1663, and Bram, ...

Author: Eve Yohalem

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780698164482

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 703

DOWNLOAD →

A tale of pirates, mutiny, and friendship on the high seas, perfect for fans of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle It’s 1663 and there is an extra passenger on board a Dutch merchant ship setting sail for the East Indies. Twelve-year-old Petra has stowed away to escape her abusive father. But she quickly realizes that surviving for months at sea will be impossible without help. So when Bram, the half-Dutch / Half-Javanese son of the ship’s carpenter, finds her hiding spot, Petra convinces him to help her stay hidden . . .and help disguise her as a boy. If Petra is discovered and exposed as a girl, she could be tossed overboard, or worse . . . returned to her father. And if Bram is exposed for helping her, he could lose the only home—and family—he has. As tensions rise on the ship, with pirates attacking, deadly illness, and even mutiny, Petra and Bram face impossible decisions that test their friendship and threaten their dreams of freedom. Told in alternating voices and filled with secrets and intrigue, this richly researched novel is historical fiction at its best.

The Truth According to Blue

ABOUT THE AUTHOR Nicholas Polsky Eve Yohalem is the author of Cast Off: The Strange Adventures of Petra De Winter and Bram Broen, Escape Under the Forever Sky, and The Truth According to Blue. She lives in New York City.

Author: Eve Yohalem

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780316424400

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 686

DOWNLOAD →

A heartfelt middle grade adventure about one girl's search for sunken treasure, friendship, and her place in the world. Thirteen-year-old Blue Broen is on the hunt for a legendary ship of gold, lost centuries ago when her ancestors sailed to New York. Blue knows her overprotective parents won't approve of her mission to find their family's long-lost fortune, so she keeps it a secret from everyone except her constant companion, Otis, an 80-pound diabetic alert dog. But it's hard to keep things quiet with rival treasure hunters on the loose, and with Blue's reputation as the local poster child for a type 1 diabetes fundraiser. Blue's quest gets even harder when she's forced to befriend Jules, the brainy but bratty daughter of a vacationing movie star who arrives on the scene and won't leave Blue alone. While Blue initially resents getting stuck with this spoiled seventh grade stranger, Jules soon proves Blue's not the only one who knows about secrets -- and adventure. Will Blue unravel a three hundred year-old family mystery, learn to stand up for herself, and find the missing treasure? Or is she destined to be nothing more than "diabetes girl" forever?