A Whole New Mind

A Whole New Mind takes readers to a daring new place, and a provocative and necessary new way of thinking about a future that's already here.

Author: Daniel H. Pink

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101157909

Category: Psychology

Page: 304

View: 361

DOWNLOAD →

New York Times Bestseller An exciting--and encouraging--exploration of creativity from the author of When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing The future belongs to a different kind of person with a different kind of mind: artists, inventors, storytellers-creative and holistic "right-brain" thinkers whose abilities mark the fault line between who gets ahead and who doesn't. Drawing on research from around the world, Pink (author of To Sell Is Human: The Surprising Truth About Motivating Others) outlines the six fundamentally human abilities that are absolute essentials for professional success and personal fulfillment--and reveals how to master them. A Whole New Mind takes readers to a daring new place, and a provocative and necessary new way of thinking about a future that's already here.

A Whole New Mind

A Whole New Mind takes readers to a daring new place, and a provocative and necessary new way of thinking about a future that's already here.

Author: Daniel H. Pink

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781594481710

Category: Psychology

Page: 304

View: 611

DOWNLOAD →

New York Times Bestseller An exciting--and encouraging--exploration of creativity from the author of When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing The future belongs to a different kind of person with a different kind of mind: artists, inventors, storytellers-creative and holistic "right-brain" thinkers whose abilities mark the fault line between who gets ahead and who doesn't. Drawing on research from around the world, Pink (author of To Sell Is Human: The Surprising Truth About Motivating Others) outlines the six fundamentally human abilities that are absolute essentials for professional success and personal fulfillment--and reveals how to master them. A Whole New Mind takes readers to a daring new place, and a provocative and necessary new way of thinking about a future that's already here.

A Whole New Mind

This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

Author: Daniel H. Pink

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781573223089

Category: Psychology

Page: 272

View: 881

DOWNLOAD →

New York Times Bestseller An exciting--and encouraging--exploration of creativity from the author of When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times. In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

Innovation Management

Daniel H. Pink, A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future (New York: Riverhead Books, 2005), 133. 7. Quoted in Daniel H. Pink, A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future (New York: Riverhead Books, 2005), ...

Author: Shlomo Maital

Publisher: SAGE Publications India

ISBN: 9788132110750

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 584

View: 497

DOWNLOAD →

Innovation Management: Strategies, Concepts and Tools for Growth and Profit is a unique book in the rapidly growing discipline of Innovation Management. It seeks to build on the experience from an earlier discipline—Competitive Strategy. It took more than two decades for practitioners to realize that successful strategy is driven by implementation, not by formulation. Similarly, successful innovation—the key to growth and profit—rests on disciplined management and implementation of the innovation process from start to finish. This book first answers the key questions: Why innovate? How to innovate? Who innovates? It then provides 10 essential and practical tools to help innovators guide their ideas to marketplace success. Following the publication of the successful first edition, and in response to many readers' positive feedback for its case studies, the second edition contains a large number of new mini case studies about innovative start-ups, businesses, and ideas in the period of 2007–12 Innovation Management shows how companies and individuals can transform creative ideas into powerful, sustainable, change-the-world businesses and emphasizes the crucial role of execution in implementing inspiring ideas.

A Declaration of Financial Independence

Daniel Pink, A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future, (Riverhead Books) 219. 4. Janus Global, "Simple Life," [http://www.janus.org/ future_news/news.htm] . 5. Tim Sanders, proclaimed a "social revolution," May 11, ...

Author:

Publisher: Xulon Press

ISBN: 9781612156569

Category:

Page:

View: 155

DOWNLOAD →

MindFit

“I didn't know how I got there”: When burnout is the best thing that could happen'. News.com.au. ... A Whole New Mind: Why Right-brainers Will Rule the Future. Riverhead Books, New York.

Author: Kristopher G. Harold

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 9780730356981

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 240

View: 410

DOWNLOAD →

Workplace stress and burnout is a multi-billion-dollar problem affecting organisations. The impacts of workplace stress and burnout include low productivity and profitability, rampant presenteeism and absenteeism, alarming workplace safety performance and workers compensation claims, poor quality assurance, high negative staff turnover and even, sometimes, work-related suicide. How do you solve such complex problems when the root cause is often nebulous or emotionally-charged? Workplace mental fitness is the answer. MindFit introduces Link:Flow:Grow, a breakthrough organisational design and development toolkit that puts workplace mental fitness first. This practical, field-tested solution empowers your workforce to: ● skyrocket productivity and increase revenue ● improve workplace safety and reduce workers compensation figures ● reduce negative staff turnover and restore employee engagement ● transform organisational culture and address other chronic business challenges. MindFit introduces a transformative business management paradigm backed by mental fitness stretches, relatable stories, practical insights and handy checklists to empower your Company, your Team and your Self. It’s idealism made practical, complex made cheeky and education made entertaining. Don’t leave work without it!

Still Failing at Fairness

RIGHT BRAIN RISING We hope we have you thinking about your own contributions in moving the world forward. ... Pink in his book A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future.26 Pink contends that American society, businesses, ...

Author: David Sadker

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1439159432

Category: Education

Page: 384

View: 768

DOWNLOAD →

Despite decades of effort to create fair classrooms and schools, gender bias is alive and well, and in some ways growing. School practices continue to send boys and girls down different life paths, too often treating them not as different genders but as different species. Teachers and parents often miss the subtle signs of sexism in classrooms. Through firsthand observations and up-to-the-minute research, Still Failing at Fairness brings the gender issue into focus. The authors provide an in-depth account of how girls' and boys' educations are compromised from elementary school through college, and offer practical advice for teachers and parents who want to make a positive difference. The authors examine today's pressing issues -- the lack of enforcement for Title IX, the impact of the backlash against gender equity, the much-hyped "boys' crisis," hardwired brain differences, and the recent growth of singlesex public schools. This book documents how teaching, current testing practices, and subtle cultural attitudes continue to short-circuit both girls and boys of every race, social class, and ethnicity. Hard-hitting and remarkably informative, Still Failing at Fairness is "a fascinating look into America's classrooms" (National Association of School Psychologists).

The Routledge Companion to Advertising and Promotional Culture

“A Whole New Mind: Moving from the Information Age to the Conceptual Age.” Review of A Whole New Mind.' Why RightBrainers Will Rule the Future, by Daniel Pink. International Herald Tribune, June 11. Livingston, Geoff. 2008.

Author: Matthew P. McAllister

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781135095567

Category: Social Science

Page: 484

View: 484

DOWNLOAD →

The Routledge Companion to Advertising and Promotional Culture provides an essential guide to the key issues, methodologies, concepts, debates, and policies that shape our everyday relationship with advertising. The book contains eight sections: Historical Perspectives considers the historical roots and their relationship to recent changes of contemporary advertising and promotional practice. Political Economy examines how market forces, corporate ownership, and government policies shape the advertising and media promotion environment. Globalization presents work on advertising and marketing as a global, intercultural, and transnational practice. Audiences as Labor, Consumers, Interpreters, Fans introduces how people construct promotional meaning and are constructed as consumers, markets, and labor by advertising forces. Identities analyzes the ways that advertising constructs images and definitions of groups -- such as gender, race and the child -- through industry labor practices, marketing, as well as through representation in advertising texts. Social Institutions looks at the pervasiveness of advertising strategies in different social domains, including politics, music, housing, and education. Everyday Life highlights how a promotional ethos and advertising initiatives pervade self image, values, and relationships. The Environment interrogates advertising’s relationship to environmental issues, the promotional efforts of corporations to construct green images, and mass consumption’s relationship to material waste. With chapters written by leading international scholars working at the intersections of media studies and advertising studies, this book is a go-to source for those looking to understand the ways advertising has shaped consumer culture, in the past and present.

GRASP

We're moving from a knowledge economy in which information was 'king' to a new age - an age which Daniel Pink, author of A Whole New Mind: Why Right-brainers Will Rule the Future, has labelled 'The Conceptual Age'?

Author: Chris Griffiths

Publisher: FilamentPublishing Ltd

ISBN: 9781905493760

Category: Decision making

Page: 279

View: 691

DOWNLOAD →

This title is a pragmatic and straight-talking guide to making decisions and solving problems creatively. If you've always thought creativity was all fluff and no substance, this book will make you think again.