Annual Reports of the Straits Settlements 1855 1941

Collection of documents from the British Government tracing the history and development of Malaysia and Singapore.

Author: Robert L. Jarman

Publisher: Cambridge Archive Editions

ISBN: 1852079401

Category: History

Page: 7850

View: 736


The Straits Settlements were formed in 1826 by the amalgamation of the three Settlements of Singapore. In 1912 Labuan became the fourth Settlement. The British Government administered the colony directly from 1855. These documents trace the history and development of Malaysia and Singapore with the characteristic detail of the British Government at its administrative best. This 12 volume set covers the years 1855 to 1941 and includes all the annual reviews ever produced of the colony as a whole. The reports are arranged in chronological order establishing, for the first time, an integral series gathered together from scattered Government files. There are also many instances of hitherto unknown or unreleased documents which were specially requested by the editor from the British Foreign Office to complete this series of reports.